Remembering Dane Everhart

FAYETTEVILLE, NC — Dane Everhart, 19, of Fayetteville, died Friday, April 13, 2012.

A memorial service will be held at 2 p.m. Wednesday, April 18, 2012, in Manna Church, 5117 Cliffdale Road.  Visitation will be from 6 to 9 p.m., Tuesday, April 17, 2012, at Jernigan-Warren Funeral Home in Fayetteville.

He is survived by his father and step-mother, Michael and Sandra Everhart; his mother and step-father, Dee and Barry Gregory; siblings Geran, Trey, Shanna, Brett, and Amy; and grandparents, Gerri and Gus Thomlin, Margaret and Willie M. Gregory, Jr., and Earl and Glenda Selover.

In lieu of flowers, memorials may be made to www.loeysdietz.org

(Obituary Credit:  The Fayetteville Observer, www.legacy.com/obituaries.fayettevilleobserver)

 

Dane Everhart and His Father, Michael

He was only nineteen years old and yet, he had already made an indelible mark on the world.  Last Friday evening, we lost Dane.  His death has paralyzed our community.  He was a 2011 graduate of Cape Fear High School in Fayetteville, NC.  He was a freshman at East Carolina University this year and he planned to major in biology.

Friends at ECU held a candlelight vigil for Dane.

One of my dearest friends, Dot Norris, went home to be with the Lord a couple of years ago after a long, arduous fight with cancer.  She was funny, with a quick wit.  She was also a loving and dedicated child of God and she loved Dane dearly.  They shared the same strength of character, zest for living, and devotion for God.  Dane loved Dot as well.  Despite their age difference, Dot and Dane “got” each other.  Dane was always smiling and ready to give a hug.  “That child is so sweet, I could eat him with a spoon,” she once commented to me about Dane.

        

                               Dane with friends at Cape Fear High School

Dane was diagnosed with Loeys Dietz Syndrome (LDS) about three years ago.  LDS is a genetic condition (see www.loeysdiezt.org for more information) and affected Dane’s heart.  We were ever-mindful that Dane could have an aortic aneurysm rupture but ever-hopeful that a surgery when he reached the age of twenty-five could increase his chances for a long, active life.  LDS restricted his activities but it didn’t define who Dane was.

My fondest memories of Dane include singing together in the praise band, In Touch, at Culbreth Memorial UMC.  When he and his family were led to move to Manna Church, their presence was missed in our little group.  (Check out our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/culbrethmemorialumc and see Manna’s webpage at www.mannachurch.org)   Dane was our drummer.  I loved the fact that Dane, his father Michael, and his step-mother Sandra, served our church by being active members of In Touch.   It was truly a family affair and it was a pleasure to sing praises to our Lord Jesus with them.  The song I’ve chosen for today’s HCIKFS post is “Amazing Grace/My Chains are Gone.”  It was one of the last songs In Touch learned when the Everharts sang with us.  If you read this blog on a regular basis, you know that I love Chris Tomlin‘s music and this just happens to be one of his most moving songs.  The words of its chorus touch my soul:

My chains are gone.  I’ve been set free.

My God, my Savior, has ransomed me,

And like a flood, His mercy reigns,

Unending love, amazing Grace.

ECU Friends Honoring Dane

The world is a darker place because the light that shown in Dane is gone from our presence.  But I know that he has truly been set free and is no longer confined by the chains of this world.  While we shed tears for our loss, Dane is walking in heaven with Jesus, with a new body that can never again be touched by disease or pain.  I’ll bet he arrived in heaven with a huge smile on his face.  And I’ll bet Dot Norris met him on the shore of the Jordan River Friday night.  He probably gave her a big “thumbs up.”  I look forward to seeing them both again one day.

 He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.  Revelation 21:4 (New Living Translation)

Resting in the Arms of His Savior

DANE EVERHART

MARCH 31, 1993 – APRIL 13, 2012

“Amazing Grace (My Chains are Gone)”  http://youtu.be/p8YRapsaRfE

All photo credits are from Dane’s Facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/daneeverhart#!/profile.php?id=1759558410

12 thoughts on “Remembering Dane Everhart

    1. Thank you, Diane. When I think of Dane, I think of how much I love Chad. He and Dane were a great deal alike. So, you KNOW what a special young man he was. I love it that I am seeing Chad “grow” his family. I know you’re proud of both Chad and Bradley. You and James did such a great job with them. It’s wonderful to know that they are passing on what you’ve taught them. Love to all of you, Sandy

    1. Thank you. Even though you don’t “know” them, you KNOW them because they’re your brothers and sisters in Christ. Your prayers for my friends mean a lot. Sandy

  1. I posted on the Fayetteville Observer, but wasn’t satisfied and wanted to learn more about Dane, as he was a ‘fellow Colt’ with my 2010 graduate son, Matthew, who knew who Dane WAS, but didn’t KNOW Dane. Reading this, I’m sorry they didn’t KNOW each other. We attended Baywood Pentecostal, but now, Matthew is not attending church. My son, Shane, and I now attend Cedar Creek Church of God. Matthew does have a very strong sense of right and wrong, and I am very sure of his faith in God. He, too, dealt with health issues early in his life, but is doing well now, by the grace of God. But he is a much more private, ‘keep to myself’ type of individual, who would kill me if he knew about this post, but, he has grown into such a good MAN. I am so proud of him. But, it would KILL me if anything would happen to him and I didn’t know EXACTLY where he stood with God RIGHT NOW. I thank God that you have some even SMALL comfort in knowing Dane is at peace and with his Heavenly Father right now . . . May God bless you with His Peace and Comfort in the days ahead. ~~ Adrianne McCann

    1. This may surprise you, but I live just a couple of houses down from the Cedar Creek Church of God. I am praying for you, Adrianne. It’s tough when you’re not sure what you’ve taught your children has found an anchor. I have adult children that I spend a great deal of time in prayer for this very thing. You have to believe that if you’ve taught them God’s word and His way that when they are older, they will return to it. (Proverbs 22:6) I will pray that verse for Michael — and he never even has to know it. In Christ’s love, Sandy

    1. He was a wonderful young man. We miss his funny sense of humor and bright smile. Dane was one of those people that would just light up a room when he came into it. His fellow students are having a hard time with this loss. Thanks for stopping by and for following. I can’t wait to take a look at YOUR archives, Mona. Welcome, new friend — Sandy

I'd love to read what you have to share!