Don’t Worry. Trust Jesus!

Photo Credit:  http://capubianco.wordpress.com

The Beach Boys sang, “Don’t worry, Baby.”  Stevie Wonder sang, “Don’t you worry ’bout a thing.”  Bobby McFerrin (and Bob Marley) sang, “Don’t worry.  Be happy.”  These are only three of 3, 473 songs that came up when I did a Bing search for “songs about worry.”  While all those may be well and good, my Savior has a few things to say about not worrying that mean a lot more to me than any pop song ever could:

“Don’t ever worry and say, ‘What are we going to eat?’ or ‘What are we going to drink?’ or ‘What are we going to wear?’ Everyone is concerned about these things, and your heavenly Father certainly knows you need all of them. 33But first, be concerned about his kingdom and what has his approval. Then all these things will be provided for you.  So don’t ever worry about tomorrow. After all, tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”  Matthew 6:31-34 (GWT)

Bobby McFerrin Photo Credit:  www.pacificmozart.org

How I fail at the “not worrying” directive!  For the last twenty-four hours, I’ve been holding on to some fear and worry about a situation that simply cannot be changed by my worrying.  My thoughts about it have been incessant.  It’s left me with a queasy stomach and a lack of appetite, which might be good for my diet (which I will be giving an update on next Wednesday, by the way) but it’s not doing too much for the increase of my faith and belief that God is in control.

So, I’m giving it up.  I’ve had a little cry and begged God’s forgiveness.  I know that my doubt goes against the whole of my “Believing God” Bible study that is coming to a close next week.  Perhaps Satan is trying to make me believe that I’ve been wasting all of my study time with Him and Beth Moore, but I’ve decided to throw it back in his face.

Image Credit:  www.barnesandnoble.com

If you don’t know the five-statement pledge of faith about believing God, here it is:

  1. I believe God is Who He says He is.
  2. I believe God can do what He says He can do.
  3. I believe I am who God says I am.
  4. I can do all things through Christ.
  5. The Word of God is alive and active in me.

So, take that old devil.  I will not be shaken anymore.  I will not spend anymore time in fear.  I will concentrate on how God is going to take care of the problem without any need of my worry to help Him along.  He’s got this all by Himself.

shr

9 thoughts on “Don’t Worry. Trust Jesus!

    1. God works fast. After I decided to stop worrying, the answer to the objects of my worry simply showed up at my house! Once I let go and let God, He soothed my fears in an instant. I was still editing the post and there was the answer at my back door! I am so glad I can share things that matter with you. I love you, Robin. Sandy

    1. I have been doing so well in my growing faith. I know it was an attack from the devil. Unfortunately, I let him win for just a bit. After I posted this, I received an answer concerning the object of my worry. In fact, the answer showed up while I was editing this post. Isn’t God so awesome? I’m glad this is something that touched you. I love you my friend. Sandy

  1. Love! Love! LOVE this Beth Moore study! You will learn so much!! I still say those Truths to myself and teach them to my kids. And I know I’m a little late with this, but a huge thanks! for following my blog! I’m honored. 🙂

    1. Love your blog. I can relate to the mom stuff. My little ones are now all grown (including my 14 y.o.) but the memories are like yesterday. Sandy

I'd love to read what you have to share!

