Out of the Slump: More Carbs, More Faith

Image Source: http://www.someecards.com

It’s amazing what a little knowledge can do for you.  I am taking an online course in nutrition at Universal Class (Nutrition 101).  This is not so I can become a registered dietician or a certified personal trainer.  It’s just to educate me.  (Knowledge is POWER!)  I’ve found out some interesting things so far.  For example, the carb cycling eating plan I’ve been following to lose weight isn’t new at all — in fact, it’s how naturally thin people eat.  (Therefore, it’s new to ME because I am not naturally thin!)

And I’ve almost been getting it right — almost.  The carb cycling days are correct.  Adding in the high carb week every fourth week is right on target.  But the amount of carbohydrates I’ve been consuming is slightly off.  According to my textbook and online instructor, a person needs to consume 130 grams of carbohydrates on an average day to maintain their current weight.  (I nearly fainted — 130 grams of carbs?)  It seems to me that 130 grams is an awful lot of carbohydrates to consume in a day.  But compare that amount with this information:  on an average day, adult males consume 220-330 grams of carbohydrates and adult females consume 180-230 grams of carbohydrates.

The daily recommended requirement is that 45% of your daily caloric intake be carbohydrates.  I consume 1200 calories on my low carb days.  The maximum amount of carbohydrates I should consume just to maintain my weight is about 130 grams.  On my high carb days, I eat 1500 calories.  The maximum amount of carbohydrates that I need to maintain my weight on 1500 calorie days is 170 grams.

Let’s review the amount of carbohydrates I’ve been eating during my carb cycling journey:

25-30 grams on low carb days

50-75 grams on high carb days

During my last 30-pound loss, this amount worked very well for me.  First, I wasn’t exercising consistently.  Secondly, I had a fair amount of weight to lose.  I am now 25 pounds from goal weight.  To be honest, I’ve been at this threshold a couple of times in the past ten years.  This threshold is where I’ve given up and given in.   I’ve raised my hands to God and said, “Why, oh why, Lord?  Why can’t it be easy?  Why can’t I just shovel any old thing in my mouth and be a Skinny Minnie?”  But nothing that’s worth having is ever easy — and that’s not just a platitude.  What we work for, what we struggle to obtain is more cherished to us.  We hold those things in higher esteem.  We tend to take care with what’s been difficult to come by.

To be very, very honest, I’ve been struggling with constant plateaus since June.  Lose a couple of pounds, gain them back. It’s never very much and I never keep it on for every long, but every plateau is a mind game that Satan has used to attack me and halt my progress.

A man answered, “Teacher, I brought my son to you. He has an evil spirit in him that stops him from talking.  When the spirit attacks him, it throws him on the ground. Then my son foams at the mouth, grinds his teeth, and becomes very stiff.  I asked your followers to force the evil spirit out, but they couldn’t.”   (Mark 9:17-18, NCV)

Ever feel like this?  This is how I feel when I’m on a plateau. Thoughts of what I could put in my mouth make me salivate.  If I don’t occupy myself with an activity or just a simple prayer for God to fill my mind with a task He’d have me complete instead of eating for no reason, the thought of that craving sends me into a tizzy.  I have a physical reaction to my emotional desire to eat when I’m not truly hungry.

Jesus had a response to this father and it’s the same response He is giving me when I want to give up:  you don’t have enough faith!  The father, whom I’m sure was frantic for help with his son, said it would be nice if Jesus could help them, since these attacks had been going on a long time.  If.  What a small, but telling word.

Jesus said to the father, “You said, ‘If you can!’ All things are possible for the one who believes.”

Immediately the father cried out, “I do believe! Help me to believe more!”  

When Jesus saw that a crowd was quickly gathering, he ordered the evil spirit, saying, “You spirit that makes people unable to hear or speak, I command you to come out of this boy and never enter him again!”  

The evil spirit screamed and caused the boy to fall on the ground again. Then the spirit came out. The boy looked as if he were dead, and many people said, “He is dead!” But Jesus took hold of the boy’s hand and helped him to stand up.  (Mark 9:23-26, NCV)

I asked God in prayer two weeks ago what I was doing wrong and why I was having this emotional reaction to the plateaus I’ve been on. I asked Him to increase my faith and give me strength not to give up.  I believe He sent me the answer in my nutrition class:  now that I’m close to goal, I have to increase the energy (carbohydrates) I put into my body to burn the remaining fat I need to lose.  I am more active now.  I need the energy to boost my metabolism.  I need more carbohydrates like I need more faith! 

Image Source: http://www.bing.com

So here are my new daily carbohydrate intake numbers:

50-75 grams of carbs on my low carb days

75-110 grams of carbs on my high carb days

I wouldn’t just throw these numbers out there without having first put them into action.  This is my second week of my carb intake adjustment and last Saturday when I weighed, I was down 3 pounds!  Even after my high carb days, I didn’t see a significant amount of weight gain (which I normally do).  I was so afraid to try this new carb intake, but I stepped out in faith because I know God is taking me into a higher glory.  The slump wasn’t going to do me in!   I wasn’t about to quit, but I was beginning to feel the effects of the slump.

I’ll let you know if I’ve hit a “homer” as time goes on!

What slump are you in?  What have been your victories this week?

God bless you all.  You remain in my prayers, dear readers!

shr

2 thoughts on “Out of the Slump: More Carbs, More Faith

I'd love to read what you have to share!

