Music Monday: Trust His Heart

Image Source:  www.bing.com

It is my pleasure to help my friends when I can.  My friend, Laurie, is away this week and I’m animal-sitting for her.  She entrusted me with a key to her home so that I can go twice a day to feed Oz, her dog, and the five white Peking ducks that call the water hazard in her back yard home.  Over the weekend, I gave the key to her daughter, Kate, to use while she was visiting and retrieved it last night as I resumed “animal patrol.”

This morning, I could not find the key.  I dumped out the contents of my purse — nothing.  I swept the kitchen floor (and thought “Heavens!  What a dusty mess I’ve been overlooking!”) — nada.  I pulled out the cushions from the chair and couch — no luck.  I walked through my steps from the time I got home last night until the time I went to bed.  I found zip — except for a growing sense of panic.

After an hour, I gave up and called Laurie, in Michigan, who brainstormed with me.  Short of bringing me an extra key — which was impossible since she is, after all, in Michigan, we were left with the ideas of breaking a glass pane in the door, climbing in an open window (if I could find one), and calling a locksmith.  There was no immediate answer, but the one thing she did do for me is calm me down.  She was willing to call a locksmith at her expense to correct my mistake.  I asked her to let me go over and check all the doors and windows before she did that and she agreed.

“One way, or the other,” she assured me.  “I’ve got you covered.  Please don’t let it worry you.  It’s just a key.  We’ll find a solution.”

As I walked out the door to make the drive to her house, I stopped in my yard and thought about what exactly what I did from the car to the house last night.  I remembered that the dress I wore had no pocket, so maybe the key was in the car.  And again, my hope was dashed because there was no key in the car.  (The car is, however, now void of all trash and bottles that had accumulated last week.)

“Please, dear Lord, ” I said quietly.  “You know where that key is.  I, in my limited mind, do not remember what I did with it.  So please help me find it so that Laurie doesn’t have to call a locksmith…and I don’t have to shimmy up the side of her house and into her bedroom window, if I can even find one that’s open.”

Image Source:  www.bing.com

Almost immediately, this thought came to me:  trace your steps from the car to the back steps.  There, on the ground, was that beautiful key.  I had placed it in my lap on the ride home and when I stood to exit the car, it had fallen out of the folds of my dress.  I bent down to pick it up and got on my knees on the very spot it lay and said a thank you prayer.

This isn’t the first time that God has saved me from my reckless, forgetful self.  And it won’t be the last time, either.  But Laurie’s words to me have just played over and over in my mind all afternoon:

“One way or the other…I’ve got you covered… we’ll find a solution.”

Isn’t that just like God?  We worry and fret.  We want to give up.  We want to beat ourselves up over our mistakes.  We want to get angry or depressed or obsessed with finding a solution that may not even be in our hands!  It’s in our nature to freak out and it’s God nature to be calm and offer us His solution.  Jesus was the ultimate solution to our sin.  Just like Laurie’s offer to call a locksmith, God offered us the Solution to our mistakes (sins) at His expense.  Literally, with the blood of Jesus, He’s got us coveredI

The only temptation that has come to you is that which everyone has. But you can trust God, who will not permit you to be tempted more than you can stand. But when you are tempted, he will also give you a way to escape so that you will be able to stand it. (1 Corinthians 10:13, NCV)

I trusted Laurie when she said that we’d solve our dilemma this morning.   I trusted God, who all-powerful and all-knowing, to help me find that key.  I trust Him for everything and with everything.

Is there something or someone with whom you need to trust Him?

shr

Trust His Heart” (Maranatha Singers)

5 thoughts on “Music Monday: Trust His Heart

  1. Lovely story of trust in The Lord, knowing that our beliefs can also at times have a human through God element!’ Your vignette reminded me of my Mom, who went home in early January. Always absentminded her entire life. Losing keys, and her false teethe were the most common dilemmas! Miss you Mom, glad you are not suffering any longer. Mom died
    2 days after she was 96!

    1. Your words are kind. I have learned that God shows up daily to participate in my life. Watching for His presence brings me such joy. God bless the memory of your mom. Grace & peace, Sandy

I'd love to read what you have to share!

