HCIKFS: Stepping on the Clouds

On my way to physical therapy today around noon, I was on a stretch of highway that allowed me to enjoy a broad expanse of the beautiful sky God had given me to view today.  I began to notice that the clouds were separate and distinct but clustered very close together.  It dawned on me that they almost looked like the individual steps on a staircase.

Image Source:  http://photocolin.blogspot.com

My heart beat just a bit faster as I thought, “What if Jesus were to come at this very second?”  That blue sky would open up and the King of Glory would swoop down, calling those that have already died first, followed by all His other children.  We’d be rising through the air to meet Him, gathering as the angel blasted the trumpet.

Image Source:  www.raptureintheairnow.com

As you can tell by the fact that I’m writing this at eight o’clock in the evening, Jesus didn’t come today, leaving my small, silver Aveo deserted on Ramsey Street in Fayetteville, North Carolina.

The Hoppers

Image Source:  http://southerngospel.wordpress.com

But I did come home and look up one of my all-time gospel favorites, “Stepping on the Clouds,” by The Hoppers.  I especially love this group because they are from a little town called Madison, North Carolina.  North Carolinians are extremely proud of their homegrown, award-winning talent.  (When I was young, they were known as The Hopper Brothers and Connie.  I would watch them on the Brother Strickland television show on Sunday mornings as our family got ready for church.) I love this song because it’s upbeat with a driving rhythm.  I can just imagine Jesus coming as they sing, as I’d walk all over the sky with my Savior.

Image Source:  http://breathecast.christianpost.com

A very important event is happening right now:  it’s National Quartet Convention Week in Louisville, Kentucky because September is Gospel Music Heritage Month.  I’d love to be in Louisville enjoying all the music and meeting my favorite Southern Gospel musicians.  For someone who only aspires to sing a little harmony for the Lord in my own church, it would just about be Heaven!

If you’d like to find out a bit more about The Hoppers and their music, check out their website at www.thehoppers.com.  Click on the link below and get ready to have a toe-tapping, cloud-stepping time.

shr

Stepping on the Clouds”  (The Hoppers)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 20:17:15

    It seems that clouds are the theme for this week! I love cloud formations, I still like to dream as I gaze at them. But now mature in my faith I also visualize our Lord returning in all of His Glory as I gaze at the magnificent clouds!

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Sep 12, 2012 @ 09:46:58

      As I was cresting the hill on the drive to PT, this expanse if sky just made me catch my breath! I should have pulled over and taken a picture but traffic was congested. On the way home, I noticed the clouds looked different so I missed my moment. Sandy

      Reply

  2. oilofjoyandgarmentsofpraise
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 03:22:43

    He’ll come soon. Live each day with the end in sight, with the hope of life with our saviour and king. I get excited when I think of life with him for eternity but I’m also aware that our time on earth is precious and while you are here you are a great blessing to all around you. God shines through your words and your actions. I love gospel music too! Thanks for this lovely post…..it has cheered my day, blessings

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Sep 12, 2012 @ 09:50:48

      Everything I do is for the glory of my Lord. I thank Him every time He gives me a topic to write about. I carry a little notebook in my purse so I can write them down. God bless you for your kind words.

      Reply

  3. Foromaypex.Net
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 00:25:15

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox
    and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

    Reply

I'd love to read what you have to share!

