Tag! You’re It!

I haven’t done a Friday Five in a while, so I thought I’d ask five questions, answer them myself, and then give you a chance to answer them in the comments section.  I pray that your weekend is safe and filled with the blessings of God!

Image Source:  www.marcusfalcon.com

1.  Other than your salvation, your marriage, or the days your children were born, what’s the most significant day (or days) of your life?

When I graduated from Fayetteville State University in May 1984, I held a brand-new diploma with a degree in elementary/middle school education.  But not much prospect of anything else.  No job was on the horizon.  I wouldn’t even be able to interview for another month because school wasn’t over yet and no one knew where any openings were yet.  That was on a Sunday.  I got a phone call on Wednesday morning from the principal at Beaver Dam Elementary School, who wanted to meet with me about substituting for one of his teachers who had had emergency surgery.  He hired me that afternoon and I started the next day.  I completed the year, through the second week in June.  Little did I know that although Mr. Hendon wouldn’t be able to hire me for the next school year, his friend, J. Howard Ray, would have an opening for a fourth grade teacher.  With Mr. Hendon’s recommendation, Mr. Ray called me for an interview.  And it was the only interview I did because Mr. Ray hired me.  It was one of the very first times that I can remember God giving me something MORE than I had prayed for.

Image Source:  www.asktonythegardener.com

2.  What’s your favorite meal?

I love summer vegetables:  squash with onions, new potatoes, turnips, mustard greens, corn, butter beans, peas, cucumbers, tomatoes, and homemade biscuits.  My Granny Brook first taught me that I could make a meal of vegetables alone.  Today is the anniversary of her birthday.  I miss her so.

Image Source:  http://atouchofinsanity.wordpress.com

3.  What’s the most embarrassing thing that’s ever happened to you?

When a college friend of mine found out that she was pregnant during our first year as teachers, I was thrilled for her.  That first year of teaching was filled with so much work and stress.  Since Sue worked on the opposite side of the county we kind of lost touch.  At the end of the school year, all first year teachers had a meeting and a shared a meal at the Educational Resource Center of the Cumberland County Schools.  I greeted my friend, patted her ample belly, and asked, “When is the baby due?”  She burst into tears and walked away.  Another teacher who was with her shot me a menacing look and practically spit, “She had the baby six weeks ago!”  Needless to say, I hid during the meeting.  Just a few weeks later, I found out that her husband had deployed and she was living back with her parents in Texas.  We never talked again.  I hope that one day God gives me the chance to apologize to Sue.

Image Source:  www.entertainment.wikia.com

4.  Is there a television show that you could watch in perpetuity?

There are three shows that I could just watch over and over again: I love “7th Heaven,” “Gilmore Girls,”  and “Jeopardy.”

One Direction

Image Source:  www.onedirectionconcerttickets.com

5.  My daughter is totally infatuated with the British group “One Direction.”  Since they won everything they were nominated for during the Video Music Awards on MTV last night, I was just wondering — who were YOUR teenage crushes?

Over the span of ages nine to sixteen, here are my crushes in the order they appeared in my life:  David Cassidy, Bobby Sherman, Donny Osmond, Shaun Cassidy, and Barry Manilow.  However, from the age of eight till even now, I have always loved The Carpenters.  I think one of the saddest things ever was that Karen died so young.  What a beautiful young woman with a remarkable voice.  *Sigh*

Image Source:  http://catholicnerdwriter.blogspot.com

Now it’s your turn to share!

shr

10 thoughts on “Tag! You’re It!

  1. the day the Lord first spoke to me and told me how much He loved me and that I was going to learn to trust Him. I will never forget needing $2, 000 to move to the place HE had picked out for us to move to, but moving require many deposits along with movers and because I had been in the hospital so much I didn’t have billings due, I didn’t have anywhere to get this money. So I went to the Lord. I prayed as I had learned to pray. I honored him and worshiped Him as He deserved to be worshiped. I thanked for everything He had done for us that year including sparing my life and that of my husband. And then I brought my petition to Him and said Lord, except you bring the money from somewhere, we can not move. what do you want me to do? go to the ocean and look in a fish’s mouth? go borrow it from some person you point out what do you want me to do?Tell me and I will do whatever you say. He said, You don’t need it this week! I said but, I have to have it all by next week. He said it’s not next week yet. Go about your work Rest in me. Do not worry.
    so I did go back to work and tried very hard not to think about the looming deadline. And the next Wednesday afternoon my husband and the dog went to get the mail as they do every day., but this day he walked into my office and said, I believe this is for you. You know what it was. It was a check for $2000.00. I couldn’t imagine where this had come from. I looked at the check and it had come from my insurance company on a medical device that they had turned down 6-9 months before. but somehow that decision was reversed, because here was the check.
    As I got down on my hands and knees to thank the Lord for his goodness and His faithfulness, I told my husband, if I ever doubt again, remind of this day.

    sandy, i know it was more than you wanted. I will be brief w/my other answers =promise.

  2. ok so here are the rest. I am going to have to pray over both my computers! I think they are possessed and not by good spirits! I write get read to post and it disappears into space somewhere because no one ever sees it. unless by some miracle it came to you? the 2nd part?

  3. 1. Most significant event other than those mentioned…I guess right now I’d have to say the beginning of this year when I realized for certain that depression had left me and I stopped my anti-depressants and was still okay thanks to God’s grace…2. I’d have to say favourite meal could be one of many meats but like you I enjoy vegetables of every kind….oh and fried onions. 3.Embarrassing moment…my memory lacks in this area…but I guess the first time I noticed with my MS and cognitive problems of memory, concentration etc. I told a story to a few family members and then noticed some smiles…and I asked why they were smiling and my sister said, “because you just told us that a few minutes ago”!.4.I watch “Murder She Wrote” over and over again….It still is in re-runs 5. It had to be Elvis as my crush….I grew up in the 50’s …..Going down memory lane…Diane

  4. This is a challenge –
    1. The most significant day has to be when I was told I am as cancer free as I was 20 yrs ago! 🙂 I have a 5-10% chance of recurrence and praise God for His strength and courage
    2. Favorite meal is steak, french fries, asparagus with hollandaise sauce, salad and ice cream for dessert..now back to reality and being diabetic I have to say homemade soups and salad (with chicken or steak in the salad)
    3. The most embarrassing thing…I guess when talking to my mothers friend who was also from Germany and we were discussing the different German regions and I told her a story from my mom that was not a complimentary to this one area and it was from where she was from…foot in mouth…to this day I feel bad and have since watched what I say!
    4. TV shows I would perpetually watch – I Love Lucy, ER, Third Watch, Everybody Loves Raymond, The King of Queens, That Girl, Mary Tyler Moore, the Bob Hope Specials and the Carol Burnett Show.
    5. Childhood crushes…oh my lets see Bobby Sherman, David Cassidy, Jay Osmond, Paul McCartney (heart throbbing now!!), and like you will always love the Carpenters. There are many singers from the 50’s and 60’s that will always have a place in my heart for the type of music they sang…Linda Rondstadt, Ricki Nelson, etc…too many name.
    Thanks for the memories!!! Patty

  5. 1. The day He totally delivered me from fear. Close second? The day Paul came home from Afghanistan!
    2. I miss my grandmother! Your answer made me think of her fried chicken and gravy, whipped potatoes and yellow squash. And always, always homemade Harvard beets.
    3. I have no idea. I think I’ve got selective amnesia. I’ll have to think on it.
    4. I have no idea. I LOVED the early episodes of Seventh Heaven, before it turned into a soap opera. 🙂 I’d have to say a show out of the 90s, The Pretender.
    5. Five words: New Kids on the Block. Now, let us never speak of this again.

    1. I agree about the latter episodes of 7th Heaven. The sweetness of it for me is the fact that this was the show that our whole family watched. I cherish that above all else.

I'd love to read what you have to share!

