Prayer In School

Pray in the Spirit at all times with all kinds of prayers, asking for everything you need. To do this you must always be ready and never give up.  Always pray for all God‘s people.  Ephesians 6:18 (NCV)

I visited Kelly’s classroom yesterday.  Hundreds of memories about my days as a teacher flooded my mind and my eyes teared up.  As he showed me what he’s been working on, an enormous surge of pride filled my heart.  It is plain to see that God created Kelly to teach Public Safety, which is the prerequisite to the upper level Criminal Justice courses.  He has a vast knowledge and expertise that will make this course a success.

Image Source:  www.123rf.com

I told Kelly that many people can instruct, but teachers are molded by God.  I have no doubt that he will change lives at Southview High School.  Those now-empty desks will be occupied by students of all economic and social statuses on August 27, 2012.  He will be mentoring Christians and non-Christians.  Some will be rule-followers while others will be rule-breakers. There will be serious students and students who are occupying a seat because it’s the law.  There will be many needs that Kelly has to meet this school year.  It is a great responsibility to be a Christian educator in a public school system.

Image Source:  www.123rf.com

As I perused Kelly’s classroom, I prayed.  I walked (or “crutched” as it were) between the rows and touched the desks.  I prayed for the students that would sit in each desk.  (Kelly has a full course load of ninety students — thirty students per period.)  I prayed over the furniture, textbooks, and computers.  I prayed over the chalkboard and Smartboard (a wonderful technological tool that allows classroom discussions and activities to be conducted a little like “Family Feud“).  I prayed in the hallways and parking lot.  I prayed for the faculty and staff and for the student body as a whole.

Image Source:  www.rwlj.5u.com

There are parents across the United States who meet before the school session begins each year who do the same thing I did.  I believe that God hears those prayers with special consideration.  I love Isaiah 30:18 for its encouraging message.  Carefully note the phrases “pray in the Spirit” and “you must always be ready and never give up” and “all God’s people,” for these are great instructions for parents, teachers, and school personnel in every department and on every level.  Don’t tell me you can’t pray in school.

Image Source:  www.groffandassociates.com

Have you ever done something like this, either as part of an organization or group or as an individual?  Are you a teacher who prays over your classroom?  Share your experiences with me and I’ll add you to my prayer list.

shr

3 thoughts on “Prayer In School

    1. Just in the past five years have I learned how to “pray without ceasing.” If you ask God to bring people, places, and circumstances to your mind, you will find yourself in constant prayer. If someone pops into my mind unexpectedly, I pray for them immediately. On some occasions, I have found that something important was happening or there was a specific need for prayer with those individuals. My Aunt Melba often calls me when she has a sudden thought of me. So many times she’s called when I was in a small crisis or when I was down. As I’ve said before, there are no coincidences — only God-incidences!

I'd love to read what you have to share!

