HCIKFS: Before the Rocks Cry Out/Let’s Just Praise the Lord

A Note for My Friends and Followers:  I have been writing this blog now for eight months.  Those of you who follow regularly can probably guess what HCIKFS means, but for those who are new, it stands for “How Can I Keep from Singing?”  When I write about my favorite music from now on, I’ll be using HCIKFS to help keep my titles shorter.  As always, thanks for stopping by!

*****   

Have you ever had a piece of news that was so good you thought you’d burst if you didn’t tell someone and tell them quickly?  Me, too.

Image Source:  www.really-learn-english.com

Don’t you think it would be fantastic if Christians treated the Good News of the gospel of Jesus Christ in such an exhilarating manner?  Me, too.

Would you consider it a miracle if we could almost have spontaneous combustion if we didn’t get the Victory Message of the Cross out of our mouths and to the attention of other people?  Me, too.

Don’t you want to be that kind of Christian?  Me, too.

Image Source: http://beyondborders.wordpress.com

Side Note:  I am a Christian first, but I am a patriot second.  I love our country, even when we are going through tough economic times like now.  I love our country even when we have leaders who aren’t equipped for the jobs they occupy.  Given all the problems that our country is going through, I would rather live in the United States of America than anywhere else in the world.  I watched the news last night and at one of the Occupy rallies in California, there were protesters yelling, “I hate living in this country” and “America is the toilet bowl of the world.”  My advice to those who speak badly of our country is to move to another part of the world and live there awhile.  Absence would make the heart grow fonder and, if they were lucky, wiser. (If you have opinions different from mine, you may respectfully share them.  That’s one of the great things about the USA — you have a right to express your beliefs and opinions if you disagree.  Okay, I’m getting down from my soapbox now.)

Image Source:  http://writemywordsinmythoughts.wordpress.com

When I was in the Cape Fear High School Chorale (led by the lovely and talented Jo Anne Yates Swartz) we did a musical entitled “Sweet Liberty” at the end of my junior year in high school (1979).  This was my first foray into praise and worship music that wasn’t from a hymnal.  I love all God’s music.  I love hymns.  These are the songs that my mother and grandfather taught me. They are the songs that first made me realize that I loved Jesus and needed Him to live in my heart.

Jo Anne Yates Swartz

Jo Anne Yates Swartz

Image Source:  www.facebook.com/joanneyatesswartz

But I have to tell you that the songs from “Sweet Liberty” awoke a new kind of “worship animal” in me.   This entire musical is a rousing patriotic tribute to God and country, full of praise and worship songs that will touch you in ways that you will never forget.  “Before the Rocks Cry Out” is one of my two favorite songs from this musical.   The other is “Let’s Just Praise the Lord.”  (Click here to listen to a version of that song from the Gaither Homecoming DVD series.)

Image Source:  www.worship.co.za

The version of “Before the Rocks Cry Out” in the video I found on YouTube was released in 1977.  It’s a rousing gospel rendition that will make you want to get up, clap your hands, raise your arms to heaven, and stomp your feet.  To get the full effect, turn up the volume on your computer.  Expect to shout “Praise the Lord” and “Hallelujah” quite a bit.

Some Pharisees from the crowd told him, “Teacher, get your disciples under control!”  But he said, “If they kept quiet, the stones would do it for them, shouting praise.”  Luke 19:39-40 (The Message)

Image Source:  www.lakcountryhop.com

I don’t want to have to stand in front of my Savior in Heaven and explain why the stones and rocks on the earth He created had to praise His name when it was my job.  I want someone to tell me to get myself under control because I just can’t stop praising my God.  I want to fall in love with Jesus over and over and over again.  I want to have butterflies in my stomach and break out into a cold sweat because the thought of my Savior erupts waves of desire in my soul.  I know I’m not there yet, but I want to be.  I want to be that kind of Christian.

Image Source:  www.worshippingchristian.org

 Praise the Lord, the God of Israel.   He always was and always will be. All the people said “Amen” and praised the Lord.  1 Chronicles 16:36 (NCV) 

Feel free to join me in praise to the Father and share how praising His name makes you feel!

shr

Before the Rocks Cry Out”  (Sara Jordan Powell)

4 thoughts on “HCIKFS: Before the Rocks Cry Out/Let’s Just Praise the Lord

  1. Praise the Lord indeed..I love my country also ….I’m in Canada and we have similar stories of protests about where we live and I have the same thought. If you don’t like it here go where you think it’s better and you’ll find out what a wonderful country we do live in…freedom and benefits such as is not found in so many countries..Diane

    1. Thank you, Diane. Patriotism is not only limited to the United States, indeed! This is one of the ugliest presidential campaigns I’ve ever witnessed. I cringe to know that God is watching it. I don’t like the nasty ads but it ultimately goes back to free speech. You are a gem, Diane!

  2. In these times we should all be working together and not yelling in anger and hatred. I liked your article and want to be person God created me to be and my goal is to hear these words “well done faithful servant” – may we all hear those words! And may our example inspire those that need to hear the word of God! Blessings – Patty

I'd love to read what you have to share!

