How Can I Keep from Singing: Heaven’s Child

Image Source:  www.wmu.com

Christmas in August?!?!  Yep, that’s when our choirs start practicing Christmas music.    It excites me to sing music about the birth of Jesus, my Savior.  Yesterday, I had butterflies in my stomach right before the first adult Christmas cantata practice.  As usual, it was an amazing practice.

This year, we are combining the music of the children and adult choirs and our presentation will be concert-style.  I chose wonderful songs for our Crusader Choir to sing and Erika Holland, the music director and adult choir director at Culbreth Memorial UMC, has chosen a wonderful cantata for the adult choir cantata.  The children will sing first, then we have chosen a couple of songs for both choirs to sing together.  The adult choir will then present “Heaven’s Child,” our cantata.

Image Source:  www.brentwoodbenson.com

I chose to share this song with you because I have been asked to sing the solo for this song.  I have to tell you, I’m an average singer.  I’ll never win any awards for anything I sing, but my soul cries out to sing for my Lord.  I worship my God best through music.  Every person has a path to worship that is totally his or hers.

I praise the Lord because he does what is right.   I sing praises to the Lord Most High.  Psalm 7:17 (NCV)

Image Source:  www.ebookreviewers.com

As an alto, sometimes it’s hard to get a solo that fits my vocal range.  I am honored that Erika has asked me to sing this gorgeous song.  Not only is the music beautiful, but the words (written by Joel Lindsey) paint the innocence of Jesus’s birth with awe and reverence.  As a writer, I love putting praises to my Lord on paper.  King David was the master of praising God through the psalms.

 A psalm of praise, of David.  I praise your greatness, my God the King;  I will praise you forever and ever.  Psalm 145:1 (NCV)

Beth Moore

Image Source:  www.livingproofministries.org

Another favorite path to worship is to hear the word of God taught and to teach the word of God.  I love my college/career Sunday School class and mentoring the young mothers in our Wednesday night Bible study.  I love the teachings of Billy Graham, Joel Osteen, Beth Moore, Kay Arthur, Priscilla Shirer, and my pastor, Charlie Herring.

Glorify the Lord with me, and let us praise his name together.  Psalm 34:2 (NCV)

Image Source:  www.kollewin.com

My final favorite path to worship is through Christian fellowship.  Whether it’s at the breakfast at church on the first Sunday of the month, participating with the senior adults in activities, attending Winter Jam with friends, or sitting around with fellow Christians who love the Lord, I become closer to God when I’m closer to my brothers and sisters in Christ.

We are your people, the sheep of your flock.  We will thank you always;  forever and ever we will praise you.  Psalm 79:13 (NCV)

I hope you’ve found your path to worship; the way that gets you closest to God; the way that opens up your personal relationship to Jesus.

Image Source:  www.calvarylg.com

What are your paths to worship?   Please share your thoughts with me!

shr

Heaven’s Child” (The Martins)

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cindyhfrench
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 18:41:34

    oh Sandy what an absolutely beautiful post! I too, love the singing in worship. I can’t sing like I could before my last stroke, but for some reason !! I do sing so much better when I am singing His praises, His worship songs. I love to worship My Lord God in prayer and tell Him in every way I can think of how wonderful He is. I love to hear my pastor who comes at every familiar scripture in a completely different way that I have thought of before. I love to worship through the baptism of many adults every month – and through the Lord’s Supper when we are reminded of His Great Sacrifice. I too do Bible studies.In 1993 I started Precept classes that Kay Arthur does with Idelwild and when we moved I did Beth Moore with my church. For over 6 years soon to be starting my 7th year, I have been going to Bible Study Fellowship International. Truly I believe that this is where God was working on what He began so many years ago in me, but now after my stroke, and not having a voice, He was who I had turned to.
    So that first year in 2006, when I started the class, I didn’t have a voice to participate. But in October, when God gave me back a new voice, my class was there to see the miracle and rejoice with me.
    Now I worship Him all day long as He is completely intertwined in my recruiting business. He helps me know who to contact, what to say, what to do when I am stumped. In fact now I have people asking me to teach them to talk like I do! At first I didn’t know what that meant. But then the first person to ask explained. She had never had a business conversation where God or Jesus Christ was a part of it. how did I do that? Of course, I don’t. He does. Another trait to love and worship!

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Aug 07, 2012 @ 10:43:43

      I love communion. In our church, I’m on the committee that sets up communion each month. When I’m setting up communion, I have a chance to reflect on why we’re observing it and I pray over each little glass of juice I feel, that whoever receives it may be blessed. Thank you for your lovely comment and reminder! Sandy

      Reply

  2. oilofjoyandgarmentsofpraise
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 06:24:23

    I love posts about worship and I really enjoy hearing Beth Moore teaching too! Thanks for a great post. Hope you’re well

    Reply

  3. writerwannabe763
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 08:45:49

    The song is beautiful….I guess reading the word and a devotional each day makes me realize how great our God is. I don’t think I do justice to Him ever in worship though. When you realize you’re speaking in prayer to the God who made the Universe, the world and everything in it except that for Jesus and the Holy Spirit being our intercessor for us my small voice seems so inadequate..Diane

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Aug 07, 2012 @ 10:47:25

      That is an awesome observation. When I sing, I am always thinking, “You are so magnificent, Lord. I am unworthy to sing Your praises, but I am so glad that You love it when I sing.” What a poetic comment! Sandy

      Reply

  4. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 10:59:25

    I can’t carry a tune, but I do sing a joyful song!! What a gift you have in song, it is a beautiful way to praise our Lord. I always tell people, God did not give me the gift of singing, but He blessed me with ears that hear! Patty

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Aug 07, 2012 @ 12:37:17

      So true, my friend. I am always working on my “listening ears” so that I can hear God’s voice in every circumstance. Thank you for sharing.

      Reply

  5. cindyhfrench
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 21:20:00

    here is a little gift from me, my very sick cousin who is memorizing hymns and the Lord of course:

    God holds the key of all unknown,
    And I am glad;
    If other hands should hold the key,
    Or if He trusted it to me,
    I might be sad.What if tomorrow’s cares were here,
    Without its rest?
    I’d rather He unlocked the day,
    And, as the hours swing open, say,
    My will is best.The very dimness of my sight
    Makes me secure;
    For, groping in my misty way,
    I feel His hand; I hear Him say,
    My help is sure.I cannot read His future plans;
    But this I know:
    I have the smiling of His face,
    And all the refuge of His grace
    While here below.Enough; this covers all my wants;
    And so I rest;
    For what I cannot, He can see,
    And in His care I saved shall be,
    Forever blest.

    Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/683

    I know you like all the hymns-here is an old one but the words are so beautiful even without me knowing what the melody is. Hopefully you will find it from the source listed.

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Aug 08, 2012 @ 14:40:47

      Another one to go in my keepsake book! I’ve never heard this, but now I’m going to look though all my hymnals to see if it’s in there. Thanks! Sandy

      Reply

      • cindyhfrench
        Aug 08, 2012 @ 19:46:14

        you are welcome! I am just glad that the HS thought of it and told me to copy it! I remembered about your hymns, so I am thrilled to be giving you one you didn’t have!

  6. cindyhfrench
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 23:17:54

    here is another from avie’s place blog today

    Welcome into this place, welcome into this broken vessel. You desire to abide in the praises of Your people. So we lift our hands, and we lift our hearts, as we offer up this praise unto Your name.”

    Reply

  7. Victoria
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 09:22:16

    What a wonderful post and message! How wonderful to carry the message of the birth of our Lord and Saviour…throughout the year!

    Reply

I'd love to read what you have to share!

