How Can I Keep from Singing: Shackles

Image Source: www.wallpaper4me.com

Had the first half of this summer not transpired like it did, I’m certain that the last half of this summer would have been emotionally unbearable for me. By putting God‘s will for my life first in June and July, I can survive the “chains” that August and September have brought with an assurance that there is a lesson in the imprisonment that only six weeks on crutches will reveal.

Image Source: www.californiakneedoctor.com

My knee surgery started out as this simple little procedure with two to three days of rest and maybe a week of crutches and physical therapy to follow for another two weeks. Then Dr. Newman actually got in there and found damage that he had not anticipated. He did what he could for me and has ordered me not to drive or put any weight on my right leg whatsoever for six weeks. He cannot tell me where we’ll be going from here because he doesn’t know where I’ll be physically at the end of six weeks. Needless to say, these crutches are now my BFFs.

Image Source: www.orthostatmedicalsupply.com

For a control freak like me, that news might have sent me over the edge this past Monday afternoon. Instead, I looked back at all the work I’d gotten accomplished when I was prioritizing for the Master and said, “Thank You, God, for seeing past what I couldn’t.” Thank God that I have a leg-up (so-to-speak) on my work with Bible study and with the Crusader Choir. God has made a way for me and I don’t have to fight through things under the “shackles” of these crutches.

Image Source: www.goodsalt.com

About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing songs to God as the other prisoners listened. Suddenly, there was a strong earthquake that shook the foundation of the jail. Then all the doors of the jail broke open, and all the prisoners were freed from their chains. The jailer woke up and saw that the jail doors were open. Thinking that the prisoners had already escaped, he got his sword and was about to kill himself. But Paul shouted, “Don’t hurt yourself! We are all here.” The jailer told someone to bring a light. Then he ran inside and, shaking with fear, fell down before Paul and Silas. He brought them outside and said, “Men, what must I do to be saved?” They said to him, “Believe in the Lord Jesus and you will be saved—you and all the people in your house.” So Paul and Silas told the message of the Lord to the jailer and all the people in his house. At that hour of the night the jailer took Paul and Silas and washed their wounds. Then he and all his people were baptized immediately. After this the jailer took Paul and Silas home and gave them food. He and his family were very happy because they now believed in God. Acts 16:25-34 (NCV)

Image Source: http://doodleaday.wordpress.com

My favorite Vacation Bible School story this year was the story of Paul and Silas in prison. God broke their shackles, freed them from prison, and still made a way for their jailer and his entire family to be saved. My favorite song from VBS was “Shackles” also known as “Praise You.” Below I’ve added a link to the song and hope that it helps you embrace whatever you’re struggling with. Call upon the name of Jesus Christ and He will break those shackles off your feet and give you freedom and peace!

Please add me to your prayer list. Let me know if there’s anything I can be praying about for you, since I’ll have lots of extra time on my hands. I’m eager to see what I’ll learn during my six weeks in these shackles!

Shackles/Praise You” (Mary, Mary)

shr

7 thoughts on “How Can I Keep from Singing: Shackles

  1. Sandy, you must know that I understand exactly how you feel. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been on crutches-but it’s a lot! I have broken my ankle, my knee, my foot–I know it’s no fun being on crutches and the Lord bless you for your attitude! I will pray that you heal quickly…as I am praying for my self. Just tonight, I have had pain and throbbing in my leg that had the clot in the groin area. I felt a knot on my outside calf as well. I spoke with my doctor and he has had me put heat on it and elevate it. Of course if I am not better in the morning, we’ll go to the hospital and check it out, but I really didn’t want to go to the ER on a Friday night!!
    I am on a really high dose of Coumadin, so he and I couldn’t imagine that I would have another clot. Certainly I have prayed not. So as I pray for you, please pray for me.

    1. Oh I do know that you know! I have taken for granted my mobility. Simply going to the bathroom takes military maneuvers that would make General Patton sweat! Your prayers mean so much to me. My prayers are with you as always.

  2. I’ll be praying for your healing and recovery. Been thinking about your husband lately, and wondering how he’s doing, and how your doing with how he’s doing. If you blogged about this already, sorry, haven’t had time to keep up. I’m praying for you both. God bless.

    1. KELLY IS FANTASTIC! He starts his teaching job with the Cumberland County Schools on Monday. He’ll be teaching criminal justice at Southview High School. I am doing well. We take turns being each other’s cheerleaders. God has blessed us richly. This thing with my knee is just a hiccup on our journey with God’s grace. Thanks for asking Randall!

  3. You have had a busy 2 months…and looks like a somewhat subdued 6 weeks or so. But at least you are prepared for what lays ahead because of your work already done for the beginning of fall… I will say a prayer for your recovery…Diane

I'd love to read what you have to share!

