Priorities and Providence

Image Source: www.graphicshunt.com

It’s been a month since my last blog post. I’ve missed writing here and sharing God‘s word with you, but there were some other priorities that God set before me and I had no choice but to put them first. He spoke to me one day in mid-June while I was playing the piano. I love to sit down with my collection of hymnals and Christian music books and play for an hour or so. It brings me a calm, peaceful attitude. I played the song “Seek Ye First.” It is based on the following scripture:

Seek first God’s kingdom and what God wants. Then all your other needs will be met as well. Matthew 6:33 (New Century Version)

Image Source: www.chellum.com

I had been stressing over three tasks that were before me:

We’ve not yet finished the first Mom’s Bible study and the group was already eager to continue meeting and studying the word of God.

Image Source: www.paperbackswap.com

This is my second year teaching the middle school/high school class in VBS. Teenagers can be demanding because they want to learn and have fun, but they want to do it in a “cool” way.

Image Source: www.gofish.com

And yes, I said “Christmas” music — we always start in August because it gives us plenty of time to learn and memorize the songs. It is less stressful for the children, parents, and me. (Below is a link to one of the children’s favorite songs in our repertoire.)

Christmas This Year (Toby Mac)

When God spoke to me, I felt like He was asking me to give him the time to get these prioritized projects accomplished and He would make sure that I had plenty to write about for this blog. And throughout the time I was accomplishing His tasks, He would bring something to the forefront of my mind. I started keeping my journal near to write the little gems He kept giving me.

Image Source: www.careerguidetips.com

One by one, I got the tasks completed. God gave me such peace. Then the devil reminded me that Kelly was still waiting to hear from all the teaching positions he’d applied for. His short-term disability is set to run out tomorrow, August 2, 2012. No one had called him for an interview and I was close to freaking out. On July 11, my devotional scripture was

My God will use his wonderful riches in Christ Jesus to give you everything you need. Philippians 4:19 (NCV)

My prayer that night was for God to give me the peace He’s given when I was prioritizing my tasks for Him. And God’s answer came the next morning — Kelly got a call from one of the high schools where he’d applied and they set up an interview for the next week. He interviewed on July 19 at 9:00am. The principal called him at 11:15am to say that Kelly had the job. He will be a vocational teacher in the Criminal Justice Academy at Southview High School.

Image Source: www.ccs.k12.nc.us

We had our family vacation last week at Myrtle Beach, SC. It was such a peaceful, no drama week. The entire time, I just kept praising God for His providence in our lives.

This is one of the four pools at the Dayton House in Myrtle Beach, SC where we stayed.

Then on Monday, July 30, I had out-patient knee surgery that went well. The pain has been easy to control and my friends and family have reached out by sending flowers, bringing meals, and continually praying for my healing.

I can’t help but believe that God’s providence is directly related to our family’s willingness to prioritize our lives to put God’s will first. I thought that I’d learned to rely on God before, but this summer has been an extended lesson in putting God first and believing that He will do what He says He will do.

shr

15 thoughts on “Priorities and Providence

  1. I have not forgotten you. Something went wrong with my blog subscriptions and I have not been able to keep up. Hopefully, it is all resolved now. Enjoy your posts as always! Blessings

      1. Fingers crossed I have the bugs worked out. If you don’t hear from me you know I am probably in battle with the computer! LOL!

    1. song “Whatever It Takes.” The lyrics say: whatever it takes for MY will to break, that’s what I’ll be willing to do. When I’m doing God’s work, What He wants becomes what I want. Thanks for your comment!

I'd love to read what you have to share!

