How Can I Keep from Singing: I Will Serve Thee

Source:  www.ladiesforJesus.com

And you, my son Solomon, accept the God of your father. Serve him completely and willingly, because the Lord knows what is in everyone’s mind. He understands everything you think. If you go to him for help, you will get an answer. But if you turn away from him, he will leave you forever.  1 Chronicles 29:9 (New Century Version)

Source:  http://praisejc.wordpress.com

I love this verse.  It has such a concrete explanation about why serving Jesus is so important.  I have underlined part of the verse.  When I read this verse, I substitute, “my daughter, Sandy” and the verse becomes even more personal for me.  The messages in this verse are clear:

  • The Lord knows what’s in your mind.
  • He understands what you think.
  • If you go to Him for help, you’ll get an answer.
  • If you turn away from Him, He will leave you forever.

And the truth that comes with the salvation of Jesus:  if you return to Him, He will return to you.   We all have that opportunity until our last breath.

Source:  http://praisejc.wordpress.com

One of the first songs I learned as part of a trio (The Treble Tones at Judson Baptist Church with Bonnie Clark and Rose Russ) was “I Will Serve Thee.”  It was written by Bill and Gloria Gaither.  I love the version done by The Hoppers.  I hope you will enjoy it as well.

shr

I Will Serve Thee”  (The Hoppers)

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: One Lovely Blog Award « kyllingsara
  2. oilofjoyandgarmentsofpraise
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 05:41:37

    Love this post! It reminds me of the verse, “As for me and my household, we will serve the lord, Fiona x

    Reply

  3. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 11:21:32

    Beautiful! And so true – Blessings! Patty

    Reply

  4. cindyhfrench
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 21:45:47

    Sandy, I m just getting back with you to find out how the Bible study is going. my Bible study group prayed for your when we met on Thurs.

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 13:07:03

      It seems we’re adding a girl a week. It’s going so well. Someone has offered to buy each girl their own “Mother’s Bible.” I found one that easy to read with wonderful devotions. Keep praying. God is moving. The devil is having a fit! Sandy

      Reply

  5. future.flying.saucers
    Jun 30, 2012 @ 08:23:35

    Reply

  6. Anne Sikes
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 00:49:34

    I’ve nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award, Sandy! 🙂 http://mylifeuncutalmost.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-and-ten-commandments-awards/

    Reply

  7. future.flying.saucers
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 23:09:46

    I have nominated you for The Commentator Award. Go here to see your nomination: http://futureflyingsaucers.wordpress.com/2012/07/01/the-commentator-award/

    Reply

I'd love to read what you have to share!

