How Can I Keep from Singing: Take Up Your Cross

I had the awesome privilege of having lunch with Kelly today…alone!  Do you realize how rare that is?  Claire is still in high school and cannot yet drive and even though our two oldest children are grown and out of the house, we seem to spend a great deal of time with them during the week.  I don’t mind this at all.  But when Kelly and I can grab some”alone” time, we do.

Image Credit:  www.321pic.com

For our lunch date, we chose Chick-fil-A.  Chick-fil-A restaurants have flowers on the table and service with a smile.  It’s almost like a fancy restaurant.  I can get the char-grilled sandwich (to stay on my diet) and Kelly can get his favorite — the original Chick-fil-A sandwich.

Image Credit:  www.bumpshack.com

If you don’t know the story behind Chick-fil-A, you should check out the life story of S. Truett Cathy, the founder of the restaurant.  Besides inventing the fried chicken fillet sandwich, he was a Christian and made sure that his employees were kind and customer service-friendly.  It was his earnest desire to have a quality product sold in a restaurant that allowed his employees to attend church on Sundays if they so desired.  That’s why all Chick-fil-A restaurants are closed on Sunday.  His son, Don, is the current President and CEO of Chick-fil-A and they still carry out Truett’s wishes to this day.

Image Credit:  www.oprah.com

Today, the lunch crowd was busy and we had to wait for a booth, along with a few other customers.  When we finally sat down, I looked around at the families with little children who were seated around us.  As is our practice always, we took each other’s hands and bowed our head for grace.  The amazing thing I saw when I opened my eyes, was that almost every family around us was doing the same thing!

Image Credit:  www.lyricspond.com

I first thought of the song “I Am Not Ashamed of the Gospel” by the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir.  In fact, I couldn’t wait to get home and write this post.  But somewhere between Chick-fil-A and home, our gospel radio station played “Take Up Your Cross” (by the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir).  It moved my spirit in such a way that I knew it was a “God-incidence.”   I knew I had my song for today.

I love the words to its chorus:

Take up your cross and follow Jesus.

Take up your cross, everyday.

Don’t be ashamed to say that you know Him.

Count the cost.  Take up your cross and follow Him.

Image Credit:  http://b4thethrone.webng.com

Let me encourage you to bow for grace when you’re eating out.  It’s a way to show that you aren’t ashamed of the gospel and that you do take up the cross of Christ daily.  And you just never know who will be watching or who you’ll influence.

TAKE UP YOUR CROSS (Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir)

shr

RELATED ARTICLE

Saying Grace in PublicCyberpunk + Blue Twin  (This article was of specific interest to me because it’s about saying grace in public in a society that is different from the United States.)

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. evanlaar1922
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 20:43:37

    yeah – we do the same – some give us the evil eye and some come by and thank us for we encouraged them – awesome just to audibly thank God for His goodness

    Reply

  2. future.flying.saucers
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 21:29:19

    I LOVE my CFA!!!!

    Reply

  3. writerwannabe763
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 10:41:29

    It’s so good that you could grab a little time alone…Since we’re retired we have a lot of time together but it’s great. When we visit our kids it’s a hectic atmosphere an we’re always glad to come home to our quiet environment…..Diane

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Jun 12, 2012 @ 20:15:45

      It made the biggest difference. We hadn’t realized how much we were letting the little things pile up into big things. Just having time to focus on each other in a fast food restaurant was such a blessing. Sandy

      Reply

  4. J. Randall Stewart
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 10:54:57

    Good thoughts, and a good reminder. I can just see that restaurant, with all those families praying. What an awesome picture. Church at Chick-fil-a, who would’ve thought. I was encouraged by this post this morning. Thanks.

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Jun 12, 2012 @ 20:17:04

      I give all the glory to our Father, Randall. He inspires me to find these little moments to share and to make sure He’s the center of what’s shared. Please stop by any time. Your comments are eagerly welcomed. Sandy

      Reply

  5. oilofjoyandgarmentsofpraise
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 12:48:38

    Do you know on my first date many years ago my then boyfriend said grace in an Italian restaurant with his eyes closed and I almost died! Now I say grace with my children and I should really say grace when we’re out. Thanks for the reminder and so pleased to hear you both had time alone. How old are your kids? Ours are nearly 2 and 3 so I think we have a long way to go til they leave home 🙂
    Blessings x

    Reply

  6. momentumofjoy
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 15:13:02

    I love it!!! Btw have you tried the banana pudding shake?? That my friend is some serious heaven on earth! But hurry. For some ridiculous reason, they only have it every now and then – those scoundrels!

    Reply

I'd love to read what you have to share!

