He’s a Liar and the Truth Ain’t in Him

I think this describes the devil pretty well.  This is the second week of our Bible study exposing the lies that Satan uses to keep us from being the person God wants us to be.  I want to acknowledge both my Southern grandmothers, Eula Mae Carter and Alice Westbrook, for introducing me to the catchy little phrase I’ve used for today’s title and for being wonderful servants of God — they considered Satan the king of all liars.

Lie #2:  I’m just going to fail anyway.

Other forms of this lie are:

    • No one really cares anyway.
    • I don’t have any will power.
    • I’m afraid.
    • This is just hopeless.
    • This is probably a bad idea.

You cannot imagine how often the devil said these statements to me over and over when I decided to get healthy.  Previously, it’s the lie that has kept me from attending exercise classes at my church, sharing my health concerns with friends, and it derailed every effort toward losing weight I’ve attempted in the last ten years.

To share a mini-update about my progress:  I am still at 193 pounds but I have continued to lose inches in my chest, waist, and hips.  Can you believe that I’ve almost considered this a FAILURE?  Am I crazy or what?  And once, when someone noticed the obvious change in my physique, I heard me say, “I feel like I should have lost more weight by now.”  Sabotage at its best!

When I decided to post a “before” picture in my first post about getting healthy (see related articles below), it was with great fear and trepidation.  The whole time I kept hearing, Who is going to care that you are losing weight? No one wants to hear about this!

But I did it anyway and I want to share some statements and Scriptures that I use frequently to shut the devil up.  I love to stop him in his tracks and the Word of God does just that.

1.  God is always on my side.  I am never alone.

He gives strength to those who grow tired and increases the strength of those who are weak. Even young people grow tired and become weary, and young men will stumble and fall.  Yet, the strength of those who wait with hope in the Lord will be renewed.  They will soar on wings like eagles.  They will run and won’t become weary.  They will walk and won’t grow tired.  Isaiah 40:29-31 (GOD’S WORD translation)

And yet I am not alone, because the Father is with Me.  John 16:32b (21st Century KJV)

2.  I have the power to do anything because of God’s power.

 A final word: Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Ephesians 6:10 (NLT)

 I can do all things through Christ, because he gives me strength.  Philippians 4:13 (New Century Version)

3.  God’s grace allows me to have the strength to attempt anything.

Thou therefore, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. 2 Timothy 2:1 (21st Century KJV)

4.  As long as I have breath, I have hope.

Be strong and take heart,  all you who hope in the LORD.  Psalm 31:24 (NIV)

5.  When I’m weak, Christ is strong.  (I learned this from “Jesus Loves Me,” did you?)

I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.  2 Corinthian 12:10 (The Message)

6.  I cannot fail if I put my faith in Jesus.

The LORD is righteous in her midst, He will do no unrighteousness. Every morning He brings His justice to light; He never fails.  Zephaniah 3:5 (NKJV)

Some people brought to him a paralyzed man on a mat. Seeing their faith, Jesus said to the paralyzed man, “Be encouraged, my child! Your sins are forgiven.”  Matthew 9:2 (NLT)

“Dear woman,” Jesus said to her, “your faith is great. Your request is granted.” And her daughter was instantly healed.   Matthew 16:28 (NLT)

Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.  Colossians 2:7 (NLT)

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, and I have remained faithful.   2 Timothy 2:7 (NLT)

 

Failure should never be your first thought when you attempt something.  I’m learning to take my healthy eating and increased activity (I’m not sure it’s really exercise yet, except for Zumba on Tuesday and Thursday nights) one step at a time.  I am human and sometimes I deviate from what is healthy — or as I have referred to it in the past, cheated on my diet.  However, I’m not dieting.  I’m making a lifestyle change toward health, just as I have made a decision for my lifestyle to be one of praise and worship for my Savior.

How do you handle failure?  What are some of your tricks or tips for getting back on track when you’ve deviated? 

And let me know if you’d be interested in sharing some really yummy, healthy recipes!  I’ll share if some and I’d love to read your “yummy-best recipes” in the comment section!

shr

Image/Photo Credits:  www.leadingsmart.com, http://lucyinnovation.wordpress.com, www.picturedepot.com, www.losingweightdiets.com, www.fno.org, www.hellosaver.com, & www.poemsbycc.com

Related Articles:

“Liar, Liar Pants on Fire”  http://wp.me/p22liv-gw

“How Can I Keep from Singing:  His Strength is Perfect”  http://wp.me/p22liv-7b

“How Can I Keep from Singing:  Beautiful”  http://wp.me/p22liv-aI

“Jesus Loves Me, This I Know – Satan Hates Me, This I Know, Too”  http://birdmartin.wordpress.com/2012/05/13/jesus-loves-me-this-i-know-satan-hates-me-this-i-know-too/

Let God But In”  http://edithpont.com/2012/05/15/let-god-but-in/

“STOP! 2 POUNDS –> -2”  http://futureflyingsaucers.wordpress.com/2012/05/14/stop-2-pounds-2/

17 thoughts on “He’s a Liar and the Truth Ain’t in Him

  1. Loving this post! God is greater than all our fears – He is able to help extinguish those lies and turn them into magnificent truths. I’m so glad to hear that you are able to focus on your new lifestyle, instead of a “diet.” I so don’t believe in diets… but changing one bit of our habits goes a long way.
    As far as how I handle failure – well, I just decide that there are no failures 🙂 All experiences help us grow, even the tough ones. God bless!!

    1. Last year, my husband had leukemia. He’s in remission now. We have both been a bit on the heavy side. Then he lost a bunch of weight while doiing Atkins. We found out after the dianosis that probably the weight just sheered off him not from the diet, but from the cancer.

      He has gained some weight back and has responded to losing it in fear — he’s still reminded that he was on Atkins when he was diagnosed. He’s working through that emotionally.

      That’s why I decided on the lifestyle change. It’s not a diet and I want it to be more permanent.

      Thanks for the comment. I love your attitude about failures. Sandy

  2. Wow. What a great testimony to God’s faithfulness and goodness. I can’t imagine what that must be like for him. Will keep your family in prayer. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Great post Sandy! This is also something I struggle with, but He is faithful. Just a tiny drop of His grace makes us strong against all the force combined of the accuser.

    I’ve been super busy with good things, but I’m glad I got a chance to catch this message. Keep going strong! He is fighting the fight for you!

    1. I just trust that when I don’t hear from you that God has you engaged in other things. I pray for you and the work you’re doing. Don’t ever think it bothers me that I don’t hear from you for a few days. Sandy

      1. ok, so Vince Chough what kind of work do you do that we need to pray for you for?
        I may not be able to go out into the mission field, but I can have my mission field in my candidates supply every day and I can always pray. I stop and pray all day long, cause it is necessary to know what the Father wants me to do or I am supposed to lift up someone that I have just heard about.

      2. Cindy, please pray for our Bible study ministry and for my book to be a blessing to all that read it. So very kind of you to offer your service in prayer. Thank you.

  4. oh Sandy how thankful I am that you dropped by my blog! I love your site, your writing–everything! and I’m going to try and get my youngest daughter to come on your site may be with some recipes or what she has done, because she also had some issues and although was beautiful on the inside and had this beautiful face, she had a big weight problem…from her early teens. It was all emotional and until she and God dealt with it, she wasn’t ready to do anything about it. But I would say maybe 1 1/2 yrs to 2 yrs ago, she joined weight watchers. She has lost 60+ lbs. and of course, she looks amazing just like we all knew that she would. And what’s great about it, is that I think she is really comfortable in that new skin-so many are not and go back. So I want to encourage you. It is a life style change-it certainly was for her. To this day, she plans how and what she is going to eat and drink and when she is going to get what exercise. I don’t think it is a matter of how much you weigh, but the inches you lose if I remember what she said correctly so you are doing all the right things. And God is so good about helping you with this if you ask Him to-Did you know that? He is very literal about what you ask if you ask literally.
    I’ve learned to ask that way-cause that’s how I want answers.
    Oh and He has quite a sense of humor if you didn’t know yet, so watch out for it!
    it certainly surprised me! and this morning it surprised my sister! again, thank you for your words of encouragement. I need them just like anyone else.
    blessed be
    Cindy

    1. You know, I believe in BOLD prayer. I teach career and college Sunday school. We start our class with our high/low of each week. It usually doesn’t take long, but last week, we started sharing and the needs just started coming. So, my whole lesson was praying with these young adults…and I’ve created an entire lesson about praying Scripture and being bold.

      I have chronic pain and when I go shopping, it’s always a short trip. One day it was particularly bad for me and so I started praying for parking spaces close to the doors of these businesses. My daugher said (and I quote) “God doesn’t care about parking spaces, Mama.” And while I was stopped at a light, I just said, “Lord, You know I’m in pain and You know we have to do this shopping or I would be at home. So give me close spaces at every business. In Jesus’s name I pray, Amen.”

      YOU know what happened…I got a space everywhere I needed and my 14 year old was a new believer in bold prayer.

      It happens to me all the time. That’s why I tell everyone, you better be prepared if you’re going to ask because God can deliver in a minute.

      I’d love to do a before and after interview with her….or have her as a guest blogger. I have a friend who has a permanent guest blogger spot on the 2nd Monday of every month, but I am asking others who want to write something that would benefit my readers (and me).

      Do you think she’d do the interview or write a guest blog? My friend just sends it to me as a word document and I cut and paste. I AM SO EXCITED!
      God does move in wonderful ways! Sandy

  5. This is such an awesome post. Those are the lies that have gotten me so often too. Lies of what a failure I am and will always be. That’s why that song by Casting Crowns, “The Voice of Truth” is such a favorite of mine. But then, the fact that it’s such a favorite of so many others tells me I am definitely not alone in being attacked in that way! God bless you Sandy!! And thank you for this wonderful post!

I'd love to read what you have to share!

