The Song We Were Singing: Revelation Song

It’s that time again…time for my friend Jodie to bring us a message from her blog www.jodiebailey.com   If you’ve never read one of Jodie’s posts before, she loved music like I do.  My “How Can I Keep from Singing?” posts on Monday were inspired by her “The Song We Were Singing” posts (also on Mondays).  I love to bring you her perspective.  She has a heart for God and a way with words.    I’ll be back on Wednesday with lie #2 that keeps us from being all that God wants us to be!  Sandy

 

Photo Credit:  www.home.messiah.edu

I know that Sandy has been writing about Scripture songs.  It just so happens that the song of my heart this week is straight out of Scripture.  In fact, it’s straight out of one of my favorite books in the whole Bible.

Revelations.

It’s funny to me that it wasn’t always that way.  When I was younger, Revelations scared me so much I was afraid to even see it in my Bible, let alone read a word of it.  But then one day,  I read it.  And then I read Max Lucado’s When Christ Comes.  Suddenly, Revelations was not scary.  It was beautiful.

Revelation 4 is an incredible chapter. The heavens open wide. God on His throne.  The angels singing, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty, Who was, and is, and is to come” (Revelation 4:8b NIV).  Compelled to praise because He is so amazing and incredible. I can hardly keep my fingers from trembling just typing that.  If you get the emotion behind it, even once, it will never leave you.  God receiving His rightly deserved praises.

There is something about singing “Revelation Song” that takes me there.  When I close my eyes and sing it, it’s almost like I can hear the angels in harmony.  There is that moment when I know that those exact words are being sung in the very face-to-face presence of my King.  Oh my word.  Like the song (and Sandy!) says, “How can I keep from singing?”

-JB

“Revelation Song”  (Phillips, Craig, & Deanhttp://youtu.be/YTGqmMG3Eyo

2 thoughts on “The Song We Were Singing: Revelation Song

    1. That’s how I named my blog. There’s a line: I know I am loved by the King and it makes my heart want to sing. LBTK stands for loved by the King. That message is my whole belief system. You’re not behind. I just had a guest blogger for today.

I'd love to read what you have to share!

