Friday Five: Scripture Songs 2

I have picked five more wonderful songs that are based on Scripture.  I hope they touch you today and remind you that God‘s word is all around us.

Image Credit: www.carolmaddenmusic.com

1.  Behold the Lamb (Dottie Rambo)  To me, this is one of the all-time best Easter songs.  It’s majestic and glorious.  It makes my heart pound to sing of the sacrifice that Jesus made.  Dottie Rambo is old-school Southern gospel music and this is another one of those songs a lot of artists have covered because it has a message that all Christians embrace.   This particular video is done by The Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir and the woman who sings the solo has a beautiful soprano voice that is unparalleled.

All who dwell on the earth will worship him, whose names have not been written in the Book of Life of the Lamb slain from the foundation of the world.  Revelation 13:8 (NKJV)

“Behold the Lamb” (Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir) http://youtu.be/ysH6nl0N8gU

Image Credit:  www.katerinaart.com

2.  Behold the Lamb (Mark Altrogge)  Our choir at Culbreth Memorial UMC did this song.  It is a completely different song with the same title as song number one.  It’s main scripture focus is Isaiah 53:4-7 and these verses are shown at the beginning of the video (so I won’t be redundant and display them here).  I love this song because it’s description of the agony of our Savior is so visual.  You would have thought that after practicing for fourteen weeks I had sung it enough to be a little numbed by the words.  Not so – every time we sang it I wept openly, even in the performance.  It is that engaging.  If you say you love Jesus and aren’t moved by this song, then there might be a need for a re-evaluation of your relationship with Him.

“Behold the Lamb” (Mark Altrogge) http://youtu.be/8ywMU2xASTI

Image Credit:  www.bonanza.com

3.  “Blessed is He Who Comes in the Name of the Lord” (Sandi Patty, Phil McHugh, & Gloria Gaither)  I cut my teeth on Sandi Patti‘s”old-school” contemporary Christian style of music.  I grew up singing Gaither songs.  When you put Sandi Patty and Gloria Gaither together writing a song, it’s spontaneous combustion that produces gold.

My favorite performance of this song, however, was by my friend, Teresa Pritchard.  Fayetteville Community Church did a wonderful musical drama called “The Promise” and Teresa portrayed the woman with the issue of blood.  It was the first time I’d ever heard the song.  I love Sandi Patty’s version as well, but the memory of hearing Teresa sing it that first time is still my favorite.  There are several Scriptures associated with this song, even more than the ones I’ve listed here:

Blessed is the man whose strength is in You, whose heart is set on pilgrimage.  Psalm 84:5 (NKJV)

In the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, when you are gathered together, along with my spirit, with the power of our Lord Jesus Christ. 1 Corinthians 5:4 (NKJV)

…For our hope is in the living God, who is the Savior of all people and particularly of all believers. 1 Timothy 4:10b (NLT)

Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord! We have blessed you from the house of the Lord. Psalm 118:26 (NKJV)

“Blessed is He Who Comes in the Name of the Lord” (Sandi Patty) http://youtu.be/laXQDADpkVw

Image Credit:  www.presentationministries.com

4.   “The Battle Belongs to the Lord” (Jamie Owen-Collins)  When I was twenty-one, I won a cassette tape (ok, this makes me feel old) from WCLN 107.3, my favorite Christian radio station.  It was a collection of songs by the Maranantha Singers.  This became my theme song while I was going through my divorce and graduating from college — all within three months of each other.  I am so glad that I actually found the song in a  video by the Maranantha Singers.  It holds a powerful message:  turn everything over to God because He can accomplish what we cannot.

I love this particular Scripture that matches the song (although there are other similar verses with the same message).  I encourage you to read the entire chapter of 2 Chronicles 20.  It tells of the miracle God performed for King Jehoshaphat.  When the king surrendered everything to God, God caused the enemies of Judah to turn upon each other.  When the battle was over and dead bodies littered the ground, the people of Judah found that the spoils of the victory were so great and valuable, they could not carry it all away.  Isn’t God awesome?

And [Jahaziel, son of Zechariah] said, “Listen, all you of Judah and you inhabitants of Jerusalem, and you, King Jehoshaphat! Thus says the Lord to you: ‘Do not be afraid nor dismayed because of this great multitude, for the battle is not yours, but God’s.  2 Chronicles 20:15 (NKJV)

“The Battle Belongs to the Lord” (Maranantha Singers)  http://youtu.be/Qp_PolBwjEw

Image Credit:  www.stpaulsclaycenter.org

5.  “Thy Word” (Amy Grant & Michael W. Smith)  More music from the old-school contemporary Christian music era, which I’m defining as the late ’70s and all of the ’80s.  This is not the only collaboration from Amy Grant and Michael W. Smith, but it’s one of my favorites.  The lyrics for the chorus of this song are taken word-for-word from Scripture.

I was more than pleased to find a video with both songwriters performing this wonderful song.  It’s from “Live in Concert — A 20 Year Celebration.” (2004)

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.  Psalm 119:105 (KJV)

“Thy Word” (Amy Grant & Michael W. Smith) http://youtu.be/Ig8dO3VVayw

shr

Image Credit:  www.sodahead.com

Related Articles:

“When Times are Good, Be Happy…” (Ecclesiastes 7:14) http://haroldcameron.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/when-times-are-good-be-happy-ecclesiastes-714/

“Thy Word is a Lamp Unto My Feet and a Light Unto My Path” http://reveds.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/thy-word-is-a-lamp-unto-my-feet-and-a-light-unto-my-path/

“Pour Out Your Heart” http://propheciesofrevelation.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/pour-out-your-heart/

“Easter Sunday Call to Worship” http://doxologythots.wordpress.com/2012/04/07/easter-sunday-call-to-worship/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. evanlaar1922
    May 04, 2012 @ 17:30:19

    great for my worship time!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: SECULAR SUNDAY SONGS–Music With A Hidden Spirituality 1 | catholicboyrichard

I'd love to read what you have to share!

