If You’re Weighting on Me…

Image credit:  www.justcalendar.org

Today, it’s been two months since I started my journey back to a healthier me.  My goal was to lose ten pounds by Easter, which I did not do.  By Easter, I had only lost 9.4 pounds.  I did lose ten pounds by the next week, April 16th.  I currently weigh 193 pounds, so at this two-month mark, I have lost eleven pounds.

However, my clothes fit like I’ve lost more than eleven pounds.  Perhaps that’s because I’ve lost some INCHES as well as POUNDS.  My current waist measurement is 38″ (that’s three inches lost in two months) and my current hip measurement is 41″ (that’s four inches lost in two months).  My chest measurement remains 38″ (no change).

I’ve been asked exactly what I’ve been doing for the last two months that is different from my lifestyle before.  So I’ve made a list of the changes I’ve made.  They may not work for everyone, but I feel that these are the biggest contributing factors to my weight loss.

Photo Credit:  www.foodbeast.com

  1. I eat breakfast every day. I have fallen in love with the new BelVita Breakfast biscuits. One pack has four wafers that total 220 calories. BelVita was developed for diabetics and provide whole-grain, nutritious, sustained energy that REALLY lasts all morning.  There is no high fructose corn sugar, hydrogenated oil, artificial flavors, or sweeteners.  My favorites are the blueberry (made with real blueberries) and golden oat flavors.  These wonderful biscuits are made so that they release continuous fuel to your body throughout the morning.  I enjoy them with a piece of fruit and a cup of coffee.
  2. I drink forty-eight to sixty ounces of water daily.  Besides using a Brita water filter on my kitchen sink, I found these great water bottles at Kohl’s department store that are equipped with a filter in the mouthpiece. (See below.)  I keep them filled and in the refrigerator.  If the water tastes good, it’s likely you’ll drink more of it.
  3. I exercise three to four times a week.  I like to walk and I do modified yoga-style strength-building exercises that don’t interfere with my chronic pain.  If it hurts, I stop.  I use one-pound weights that I can hold in my hands.
  4. I don’t buy chips, ice cream, or anything else that tempts me to keep in the house on a regular basis.  If it’s not in the house, I can’t consume it.
  5. I eat fish at least three times a week.  I love tilapia and cod (baked or grilled).  I spend time searching for recipes that are easy to prepare and full of flavor.  I love watching “The Chew” on ABC because the hosts really try to introduce healthy recipes that taste good.  My favorite fish recipe is Michael Symon‘s Fish Tacos.   (Go to http://beta.abc.go.com/shows/the-chew/recipes/Fish-Taco-Michael-Symon?printable=1 and you’ll find a printable, easy-to-follow copy of this recipe.)
  6. I eat a variety of foods.  If I had to eat only salads or only steamed broccoli, I’d be gorging on Breyer’s Pralines-n-Cream ice cream inside a week.
  7. I watch my portion sizes and believe that I can have anything IN MODERATION.  If all I can think of is “ice cream” or “pizza,” I treat myself.  Take it from a woman who has eaten half-gallons of ice cream in one sitting MANY times, portion control can be done.  That way, I get a taste of what I’m craving and can still feel good about it.
  8. I made myself accountable to someone other than me.  It started out with weekly weigh-ins with my mom and graduated to being accountable to anyone who reads this blog.  Now that people know I’m trying to lose weight and be healthy (and even though it’s just ten pounds, it’s noticeable), I have to keep it up or give it up.  I don’t do well with “public” failure, so being accountable to others keeps me on track.
  9. I pray and read my Bible daily.  I don’t know why I find it so hard to pray for me, but in the past I have tended to pray for everyone else but me.  Two months ago, I started a prayer journal with my name on the front.  I don’t put prayers for anybody else in that book — only me.  Slowly, I’m getting over whatever it is that’s stopped me from going to God with personal, intimate requests that just involve me.  I can see God working on my behalf already.  I urge you to spend more time in prayer for YOU.  You can’t be of much good to your family or anyone else unless your needs are met.
  10. When I get off track, I don’t wallow in disgust and self-pity; I get up and get back with the program.  Let me assure you that I’ve started over a hundred times in two months.  There were at least two weeks during this time that I didn’t lose anything because I failed to exercise.  It’s my own fault that I didn’t make my Easter goal.  But I refused to pout about it and let it de-rail me.  It’s not an all-or-nothing thing.  It’s a lifestyle change and change for me at fifty is coming harder for me than when I was thirty.

100_0529

My New Favorite Water Bottle (from Kohl’s)

Photo Credit:  Sandy Rosser

So, those are the ten changes that I feel I’ve made since February.  I’d like to hear from you about any tips or tricks that are working for you now or have worked in the past.  Feel free to share your successes in the comment section.  If you’re having trouble, let me (and others who read this blog — I’ve got some real prayer warriors who are an interactive part of the LBTK community) pray for you.  I ask that you continue to pray for me.  I’ll be back at the end of May with my next update.  My goal for the next month is six pounds. 

shr

4 thoughts on “If You’re Weighting on Me…

  1. Thats awesome!! ive been on the fence to try the breakfast cookies but after reading this im def going to.

I'd love to read what you have to share!

