The Apple of His Eye

Photo Credit:  http://tearingoffthemask.wordpress.com

I have begun a new relationship with my granddaughter, Joshlyn.  I am now her primary caregiver while her mother and father are at work during the week.  While it is hard work, it is a labor of love more than anything.  I love to hear her coo and laugh.  She looks like an angel when she sleeps.  And when she is wet or needs a diaper change, she is not shy about letting you know she’s in distress.

Yesterday, Kelly and I were running some errands with Joshlyn in tow.  While we sat down to get a quick bite of lunch, we put her car seat on the table.  She proceeded to work her “baby magic” on everyone in the restaurant.  The owner of the Honey Dew Deli stopped by our table and commented, “What a beautiful little girl.  I’ll bet she’s the apple of your eye.”

My daily bible reading today included Psalm 17.  I was delighted at the reminder I found in this passage:

I have called upon You, for You will hear me, O God;  Incline Your ear to me, and hear my speech. Show Your marvelous loving-kindness by Your right hand, O You who save those who trust in You;  From those who rise up against them. Keep me as the apple of Your eye;  Hide me under the shadow of Your wings.  Psalm 17:6-8 (NKJV)

I am thrilled to know that I am the “apple” of God’s eye.  As much as I love Joshlyn, I know that God loves me even more.  He hears me when I pray.  He shows me his “marvelous loving-kindness.”  He has saved me from death with the sacrifice of His Son, Jesus.   He gives me protection under the “shadow of His wings.”

Do I think it’s a coincidence that I heard the use of the phrase “apple of your eye” twice in two days?  No.  There are very few coincidences in the life of a child of God.  I like to call these reminders of God’s omnipresence “God-Incidents,” for I believe He reveals Himself to us in big ways and small ways.   The big ways are more easily recognized because they’re, well, BIG.  It’s sometimes easy to miss the small ways, so you must be vigilant and watchful.  Some of the most meaningful lessons God has taught me are through that “still, small voice” in which He speaks to me.

Photo Credit:  www.med.ubc.ca

If you believe that He is always with you, then you must embrace the idea that He wants to communicate with you.  He made us to be loved by Him and to love Him in return.  We learn to know God by communicating with Him — listening and responding.

God is waiting to catch your attention!  Don’t miss the “God-Incidents” He’s preparing for you!

Related Articles:  “The Hat Rack”  http://faithrises.com/2012/02/27/the-hat-rack/

“The Direction of Your Thoughts”  http://busymomof03.org/2012/04/11/day-98-the-direction-of-your-thoughts/

“Have Women Got It Wrong?”  http://abtwixt.com/2012/04/10/have-women-got-it-wrong/

3 thoughts on “The Apple of His Eye

I'd love to read what you have to share!

