The Song We Were Singing: Ocean

I’m very pleased bring you another guest blog spot from my friend, Jodie Bailey.  If you like what you read, please check her out at www.jodiebailey.com!

“Ocean” by Ten Shekel Shirt http://youtu.be/tLMZx_ddFpQ

A wise friend once said to me, “Every woman should know where to go when her soul needs to be soothed.”  Well, I know where that is.  It’s a thin little strip of land on the Outer Banks of North Carolina.  For some reason, when I stand there and stare out at the water, if I get nice and quiet, I feel like Jesus steps up right beside me and stands with me.  Yeah, I know he is always right her, but when I’m in that spot, it just feels like he is that much closer, like he finds something sacred in that moment right along with me.  I love it.

And that’s why I love this song.  There really is “something about the ocean” when it comes to me and God.  There is something about standing on that shore, on an immeasurable number of grains of sand, facing a vast, truly untamed sea.  It makes me realize that God is so much more than I think He is.  He is so many more facets.  Just like the ocean is way more than what my eye can see, my God is so much more than He appears to be on the surface.  He’s deeper than man can measure.  He’s ever-flowing, yet somehow never changing.  How can I not love a God who drew Himself along the shore?

-JB

Photo Credit:  www.saveouroceantoday.wordpress.com

I'd love to read what you have to share!

