How Can I Keep from Singing: I’ve Just Seen Jesus

I’ve always loved that it was Mary Magdalene and Mary, the mother of Jesus,  two women, who went to the tomb after the crucifixion.  All those strong, bold disciples were in despair over the death of their Lord.  Yet, it was two women who made the journey to the tomb that day to anoint Jesus’s body that resurrection morning.  On their way to the tomb, they passed by Golgotha.

The crosses stood like silent sentinels.  I can’t imagine how hard it was for them to proceed with the job they had to do after experiencing the pain afresh with the visual reminder of those crosses on the hill.  But they pressed onward, summoning their courage,  possibly worrying all the way there:  How will we ever remove the huge stone that has been placed over the mouth of the tomb?  What if the guards will not allow us to anoint Him?  The Bible doesn’t tell of any conversation the two women had as they made their way to the place where Jesus had been buried,  but perhaps one of them even had this fleeting thought: What if Jesus has arisen, just like He said He would?

Mary, however, stood there and cried as she looked at the tomb. As she cried, she bent over and looked inside. She saw two angels in white clothes. They were sitting where the body of Jesus had been lying. One angel was where Jesus’ head had been, and the other was where his feet had been. The angels asked her why she was crying.  Mary told them, “They have removed my Lord, and I don’t know where they’ve put him.” 

After she said this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing there. However, she didn’t know that it was Jesus. Jesus asked her, “Why are you crying? Who are you looking for?”  Mary thought it was the gardener speaking to her. So she said to him, “Sir, if you carried him away, tell me where you have put him, and I’ll remove him.”

Jesus said to her, “Mary!”  Mary turned around and said to him in Hebrew, “Rabboni!” (This word means “teacher.”)  Jesus told her, “Don’t hold on to me. I have not yet gone to the Father. But go to my brothers and sisters and tell them, ‘I am going to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.’ ”

Mary from Magdala went to the disciples and told them, “I have seen the Lord.” She also told them what he had said to her.  John 20:11-18 (GWT)

What utter joy she must have felt after first watching Him die and then despairing that someone had taken His body out of the Tomb.  Isn’t that just like us?  How quickly we forget.  Jesus had told His followers all the events that would take place and they happened exactly as He’s said.  If they had witnessed all these things unfold, why didn’t they remember the most important thing — that Jesus was going to rise triumphantly on the third day and defeat death?

Don’t let this day go by without marveling at the wonder of it all!  Offer thanks to our Conqueror, the sacrificial Lamb of God!  Then share the story with everyone you know!

“I’ve Just Seen Jesus”  (Sandi Patty/Larnelle Harris) http://youtu.be/JHKuFD_Qw44

shr

Image Credit:  www.newcreationperson.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “How Can I Keep from Singing: I’ve Just Seen Jesus

I'd love to read what you have to share!

