How Can I Keep From Singing: Were You There? and When He Was on the Cross, I Was on His Mind

I have only seen “The Passion of the Christ” once.  I cried all the way through.  I was not there when Jesus was hoisted up on that cross for the redemption of my sins, but watching that movie gave me a miniscule glimpse into what my Lord endured for me — Sandy Rosser – that day.  I love this a capella version by Russ Taff.  I have made a promise to myself to watch it again this Easter.  In fact, I should probably watch it every Easter.  As tough as it is to watch an actor who is portraying my Savior, I cannot truly fathom how Jesus actually suffered.  You know it was bad because God the Father had to turn away because He couldn’t bear to watch His Son suffer.

Now Pilate wrote a title and put it on the cross. And the writing was: JESUS OF NAZARETH, THE KING OF THE JEWS.  John 19:19 (NKJV)

“Were You There?” (Russ Taff) http://youtu.be/RS7itGX5ZiI

The second video I’ve chosen for this Good Friday post is “When He Was on the Cross (I Was on His Mind).”  This song was originally recorded by The Florida Boys back in the ’70s.  In the house I grew up in, The Florida Boys, The Chuck Wagon Gang, and Johnny Cash were all gospel music artists that were beloved.  I feel much differently about them at fifty than I did when I was eleven year old.  I believe it’s because I had no idea what their music really meant when I was that young.  Knowing Jesus more intimately has given me a greater appreciation for those early Southern Gospel artists.  Being a fan of the Gaither Homecoming Series, I fell in love with this song all over again when I heard Jason Crabb sing it on one of the Gaither specials.

When Jesus was dying on Calvary, He was thinking of me and you.  Our names went through His mind.  And although He could have called ten thousand angels to minister to Him, He did not.

The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold! The Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world!  John 1:20 (NKJV)

“When He Was on the Cross, I Was on His Mind” (Jason Crabb) http://youtu.be/Vbk4d9uFqb4

shr

Image Credits: www.holyspiritmoment.wordpress.com &  www.zimbio.com

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renee C
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 11:56:55

    I’ve only watched the Passion of Christ once also and I’m like you, even tho the acting was as close as they could get without really doing those things for real, it just gives you a whole new outlook for what Jesus went thru for our salvation.

    I also have found a new appreciation and like for the old gospel singers we were brought up on. Wonderful article!

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Apr 06, 2012 @ 12:41:07

      Isn’t it funny how our tastes mature? I always think of Granddaddy Raeford when I listen to the older gospel songs. He could sing up a storm. Now I know that he was singing because he loved Jesus so much. Happy Easter! Sandy

      Reply

  2. Michele
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 12:57:17

    You have chosen great songs all week! It’s hard to pick a favorite. Thank you for your inspiriation. You are blessed.
    Michele

    Reply

    • lbtk
      Apr 06, 2012 @ 13:06:01

      Thank you, Michele. All the songs I’ve shared have touched my life personally in some way. I’m glad you’ve liked my selections. Sandy

      Reply

I'd love to read what you have to share!

