How Can I Keep From Singing: Everything Glorious

My name is Sandy Rosser and I am a former Christian music  snob.

Ever been in a worship service and think, I hate this song we’re singing?  As much as I love God‘s music, I have had this same thought.  For me, it’s not actually that I hate the particular song.  It’s more like I’d rather be singing a song that I like better.  I was raised on hymns, southern gospel music, with a little classic contemporary Christian music thrown in.  (Think late ’70s/early ’80s praise and worship.) God convicted me some time ago that discriminating against any form of Christian music before I investigate its message is wrong and I want to share with you how He brought this to my attention.

Christian songs (those that are written by men and women who are inspired by God) are so pervasive in our culture.  Check out www.youtube.com and now www.godtube.com if you doubt it.  Each genre is unique and serves a purpose.  I have my favorites in every genre of Christian music:  gospel, southern gospel, Christian rock, contemporary Christian, children’s Christian music, spirituals, and traditional hymns. (And even though I’m not a great fan of rap music, there are millions of teens and young adults being reached by Christian rap artists and as long as they are preaching the message that Jesus is the Savior of the world, I applaud them.)  I have to admit that there have been times when I haven’t found the tune pleasing or catching at first, I have been dismissive before I even read the lyrics.  There’s the rub.  The lyrics tell the real story.

Rise up, O LORD, in all your power.  With music and singing we celebrate your mighty acts.  Psalm 21:13 (NLT)

I was introduced to the David Crowder Band at the very first Winter Jam Tour I ever attended.  To be perfectly honest, I kind of zoned-out during their first song.  (Perhaps it was because we were seated to the right of the stage in front of this huge speaker.  It was extremely loud and I think that’s what I initially reacted to.)   Then,  I watched the youth around me come alive and listen so passionately to this band, lifting their arms and singing.   I began to listen to what they were singing.  The song was “O Praise Him” and I was hooked.  It will always be the song that convicted me of my Christian music snobbery.

The song I want to share with you today is equally as convicting.  Its lyrics ask a question that can change your life, if you let it:  “You make everything glorious and I am Yours.  So what does that make me?”

Check out the DCB official website at www.davidcrowderband.com

shr

Everything Glorious” (David Crowder Band)   http://youtu.be/vsxNPM4P0w4
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vince Chough
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 10:03:07

    I like good music, whether it is Christian or not. But when you combine good music, lyrics and musicianship with a spiritual message you have a slice of heaven on earth.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: #NewMusic NEW MILLIYON ALBUM “LIVE MILLIYONIC” TO BE RELEASED JUNE 26 WITH A NEW BRAND OF CHRISTIAN RAP, POP, ROCK & SOUL | Bazaar Daily News
  3. Jodie
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 22:40:17

    Love David Crowder Band. And Third Day. And Tobymac. And so many others. 🙂 And I love how so many great bands are crossing over into the mainstream.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: “Don’t Forget The True Lyrics” « Thoughts from the Porch
  5. Jes2G
    May 23, 2012 @ 10:03:53

    Wow…after reading this I suppose I’m a snob too! I don’t necessarily say “I hate this song,” but two things happen to me in church. 1.) I’ll sing every song, but get more into the ones I like better, or 2.) I’m soo musically technical I’m listening to all of the notes, phrasing, musical changes, etc. that I totally tune out the words 😦 That’s why sometimes I like to listen to music that doesn’t necessarily appeal to me because then I’ll be forced to listen to the words.

    Reply

    • lbtk
      May 23, 2012 @ 19:51:31

      Thanks for stopping by. I speak for myself mainly about the music snobbery, but I think everyone should listen to music they might not necessarily gravitate to because there are some lyrics worth hearing! Sandy

      Reply

I'd love to read what you have to share!

