Friday Five: Scripture Songs

Author’s Note:  This is a new category for LBTK called “Friday Five.”  I am asking God to show me a relationship between a group of five things and to give me a good word to speak about them.  Pray for me, that I listen to the Holy Spirit and go where He leads me.  In Christ’s love, Sandy

 Since the first of 2012, I have felt compelled to immerse myself in the Word of God so that It will be alive and active in me.  Over the past two weeks, several scriptures have just jumped out at me because I found that I already knew them — in song.  You might just find that you know them, too!

1.  Cares Chorus (Words & Music by Kelly Willardhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zn7RHpQ6ots&feature=colike

 

2.  Trading My Sorrow (Words & Music by Darrell Evans)  http://youtu.be/VsIUFy9kFMU

We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed.  2 Corinthians 4:8-9 (NKJV)

Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning.  Psalm 30:5b

 “This is a sacred day before our Lord. Don’t be dejected and sad, for the joy of the LORD is your strength!”   Nehemiah 8:10b

3.  Blessed Be the Name of the Lord  (Words & Music by Matt Redman) http://youtu.be/7Qp11X6LKYY

[Job] said,  “I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave.  The LORD gave me what I had, and the LORD has taken it away.  Praise the name of the LORD!”  Job 1:21 (NLT)

Blessed be the name of the Lord, now and forever.  Psalm 113:2 (NLT)

4.  You Are Good (Words & Music by Israel Houghtonhttp://youtu.be/4iY_f38yJqo

 “The sounds of joy and laughter. The joyful voices of bridegrooms and brides will be heard again, along with the joyous songs of people bringing thanksgiving offerings to the LORD. They will sing,  ‘Give thanks to the LORD of Heaven’s Armies, for the LORD is good.  His faithful love endures forever!’  For I will restore the prosperity of this land to what it was in the past, says the LORD.”  Jeremiah 33:11 (NLT)

O give thanks unto the LORD; for he is good; for his mercy endureth forever.  1 Chronicles 16:34 (KJV)

5.  Blessed Is He Who Comes in the Name of the Lord (Words & Music by Sandi Patti, Phil McHugh, & Gloria Gaither)  http://youtu.be/laXQDADpkVw

 

“Then those who went before and those who followed cried out, saying:  ‘Hosanna! Blessed is He who comes in the name of the Lord!'”  Mark 11:9 (NKJV)

If you have a favorite “Scripture Song,” please leave a comment.  I look forward to seeing all the Scripture you already know through song!

shr

Image Credits:  www.123rf.com, www.honeville.com,  www.godsbreath.net,  www.christianvinyldecals.com, www.theworshipcommunity.com, www.bonanza.com,

3 thoughts on “Friday Five: Scripture Songs

  1. Hi Sandy,

    This is awesome! I love God’s Word and I really like how we can know so many verses just from songs that we know! I want to spend more time in God’s Word, too! I’m looking forward to more of your “Friday Fives”! You are a real sweetie and I love your blog!

    Lori

I'd love to read what you have to share!

