Are You Ready for a Miracle?

 

God’s still doing miracles.  God’s still doing miracles.  God’s still doing miracles. Let Him do a miracle for you.  (Words by Flo Price)

Twenty-five years ago today, we had one of the biggest snowstorms we’ve ever seen in Fayetteville and eastern North Carolina.  On top of two feet of snow, we had about three inches of ice added just for good measure.  Businesses and government offices were closed.  Our school system was closed for nine days.  Lots of folks were without power.  And it was in this wintry world that God brought me to my knees about a situation in which I had purposely and defiantly ignored Him.

Kelly and I had only begun dating in January of 1987.  I gave up choosing dates for myself and God sent a lifelong friend, Kelly, into my world.  Almost immediately, God started showing me that when I followed His will, circumstances were always different, and assuredly, better.  Kelly began courting me — something I’d never experienced before.  He called when he said he would.  When he wasn’t working as a paramedic in Charlotte, NC, he was with me in Fayetteville.  He began to be a part of my life in all the ways that counted — family, friends, and church.

The first inkling that I might be falling in love with him caught me completely by surprise at the beginning of February.  My good friend and fellow teacher, Linda Trudeau Wise, and I had many conversations about exactly where this “thing” was headed.  Kelly sent me a bouquet of roses with the sweetest note:  “I’m glad I have an excuse to visit Fayetteville more often.”  I tried to downplay how I was feeling.  Linda jokingly said, “Well if you don’t want him, you can certainly send him my way.”  Immediately, the hair on the back of my neck stood up and I thought, Kelly Rosser belongs to me!  This thought was completely out of left field and it scared me.

The wedding of my friends Phyllis and Butch Jasper took place on February 7, 1987.  It was small and intimate. Not only was I the maid of honor, but my mom and I were helping with the reception.  Kelly was my date and my savior that night, making the trek from Hope Mills back to our home to pick up the punch we’d left in the freezer.  My mother watched Kelly pull away from the reception on his mission and whispered, “That boy is falling in love with you — nobody makes a thirty-mile round trip to get punch for nothing.”  He was my “knight in shining armor” that night and I was petrified.

The approaching Valentine’s Day scared me that much more.  He took me out to dinner and gave me the perfect pair of diamond earrings.  I knew in my heart that he was going to tell me that he loved me.  I almost let the words pass his lips…until I said, “I’m just not ready to hear this now.  Maybe sometime in the future, but not now.”  Like the gentleman he was, he smiled and said he understood.

That night, and into the next morning, I could not sleep.  For the first couple of hours, I thought of all the ways I could end the relationship.  Then, God presented me with a thousand reasons why I was ready to love or be loved.  I just couldn’t imagine that this good, wonderful, godly man could be mine.  I certainly didn’t think I deserved such happiness.  All night, God kept showing me Kelly’s face over and over while reminding me of the promises in His Word.

No one’s ever seen or heard anything like this, never so much as imagined anything quite like it — what God has arranged for those who love him.  1 Corinthians 2:9 (The Message)

About four o’clock in the morning, I noticed that it was snowing.  I couldn’t remember ever seeing as much snow and ice fall before.  It encased everything around us and no one was going anywhere.  A certain school teacher wasn’t teaching that day and a certain paramedic in Fayetteville for Valentine’s Day wasn’t driving back to Charlotte.  Amazingly enough, Kelly found a way to drive the five miles between his parents’ house and my parents’ house without finding himself in a ditch.  We watched movies and played games.  We talked about everything we were feeling.  We bonded as a couple and with my family.  It continued to snow and ice sporadically for the next two days.  God used those two days to open my mind and my heart.  I knew that Kelly Rosser was the person God had been preparing for me since the day I was born.

When it stopped snowing and icing, we ventured out into the woods beside my house.  I could hear our footsteps and the creaking of tree limbs as they bent under the weight of frozen precipitation.   There was a silence that crackled with energy.  It was an alabaster world among the pines and live oaks.  He looked at me and said, “I love you.”  His cheeks and nose had turned pink in the cold.

“I love you, too,” I replied.  Tears that I could not cry in the anger of my past burst forth.  And we sealed it with hugs and kisses — red, runny noses and all.  Some people describe moments such as this like “the firing of a huge display of fireworks” or “a hundred marching bands playing Stars and Stripes Forever.”  It was neither for me.  It was a quiet, welcoming of two spirits who’d once been lost but now were found.  It felt like coming home after I’d been away on a long, fruitless journey.  Kelly has been my “home” ever since.

Do I think that God sent the snow and ice just for me?  Maybe.  I don’t know the mind of God,  but I do believe He used the weather conditions as an opportunity to give me another chance to take the gift that He had so lovingly “arranged” for me.

Is there anyplace I can go to avoid your Spirit?  To be out of your sight?  If I climb to the sky, you’re there!  If I go underground, you’re there!  If I flew on morning’s wings to the far western horizon, you’d find me in a minute.  You’re already there waiting!  Psalm 139:7-10 (The Message)

What is God arranging for you that you simply cannot fathom?  Whatever it is, you can bet that He will be relentless until you give in.  Wherever you go, He will follow.  He loves you so much, He will chase you for the rest of your life.  He has a plan for your life that is more spectacular than you can imagine.  He is the God of miracles.  Are you ready for a miracle?  Just believe Him and say, “Yes!”

Photo credit:  flickr.com

Lyric credit:  Flo Price, from the Christmas musical A Miracle Happened at Christmas

Related articles:

How Can I Keep From Singing:  Faithful Friend   http://wp.me/p22liv-1F

Will You Still Believe?   http://faithspeaksinc.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/will-you-believe/

True Love   http://365dailyreadings.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/true-love/

God is BIGhttp://lorischulz.wordpress.com/2011/12/06/god-is-big/

7 thoughts on “Are You Ready for a Miracle?

  1. Well if I can hold back the tears until I can get this typed. That has to be one of the most beautiful love stories ever and I’m so glad that you and Kelly are blessed enough to be able continue to add to the never ending pages of that love story. I wish more couples could not only ‘love’ each other but would work at being and staying ‘in love’ with each other. You and Kelly have always had the ‘in love’ type of love with your relationship and marriage. Beautiful story. One day I am sure that God will bless me with my own love story that will just simply knock my own socks off. 🙂

      1. Trust me, when that day comes (notice I’m not going to say ‘if’) there will be the party of all parties!

I'd love to read what you have to share!

