The Ten Commandments: Honoring God’s Sabbath

Remember to observe the Sabbath day by keeping it holy.  You have six days each week for your ordinary work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath day of rest dedicated to the LORD your God. On that day no one in your household may do any work. This includes you, your sons and daughters, your male and female servants, your livestock, and any foreigners living among you.  For in six days the LORD made the heavens, the earth, the sea, and everything in them; but on the seventh day he rested. That is why the LORD blessed the Sabbath day and set it apart as holy. Exodus 20:8-11 (NLT)

I love Sundays.  It’s my Sabbath day — my day of rest.  For me, it has always been a day set aside for attending church and being with family.  In my prayer life, it’s the day I spend praising God for Who He is and the mighty things He’s doing in my life.  I’ve always been fortunate to have jobs that didn’t require me to work on Sundays.

Not so for my husband and for countless other public servants.  Kelly has always been in law enforcement and for the bulk of our marriage that has meant that he’s worked nearly every other Sunday.  Early on, we received some sound advice about how Kelly could also honor God’s Sabbath.  Ray Barnhill, a pastor friend of ours, often spoke of keeping a “Pastor’s Sabbath” on Friday, since he was doing work in the Lord’s house on Sundays.

So, our solution has been a simple one:  if Kelly worked on Sunday, then he used his next day off (usually Monday) as his Sabbath.  Every other week for nearly twenty-five years, I’ve been privileged to spend an extra day focusing on worship with Kelly.  If I had to choose one thing that has strengthened our marriage like no other, it’s been celebrating “Sabbath Monday” with him.

 I was glad when they said to me,  “Let us go to the house of the LORD.” Psalm 122:1 (NLT)

Thank you, Lord, for making provisions for rest.  It renews our spirits, minds, and bodies.  Let us always honor You by taking time away from the hustle and bustle of this world just to be with You.  Amen.

shr

Photo Credit:  www.blowthetrumpet.org

3 thoughts on “The Ten Commandments: Honoring God’s Sabbath

I'd love to read what you have to share!

