What Cancer Cannot Do

On this very date last year, we were at the UNC Cancer Hospital and Kelly was going through his second round of consolidation chemo for acute myeloid leukemia.  In my journal, I copied Psalm 34 in its entirety.  God led me to this scripture through an Upper Room devotional magazine that our church, Culbreth Memorial UMC, provides.  It was such a comfort to me.  I encourage you to read it and memorize it.  (Remember,you can go to www.biblegateway.com and enter Psalm 34 on the “Passage Lookup” tab.)

I prayed to the LORD, and he answered me.  He freed me from all my fears.  Those who look to him for help will be radiant with joy;  no shadow of shame will darken their faces.  In my desperation I prayed, and the LORD listened;   he saved me from all my troubles.  For the angel of the LORD is a guard:   he surrounds and defends all who fear him.  Psalm 34:4-7 NLT

Debbie Grimsley, one of the sweetest friends I have, found a great book and sent it to Kelly when he was going through chemotherapy last year.  The book, What Cancer Cannot Do, is based on the poem (by the same name) and is a compilation of stories that really helped during our worst days.  I still read this book and replace the word “cancer” with the word “Satan.”  God bless you today.  Have a great weekend!  Need a place to worship on Sunday?  Check out our church at www.facebook.com/culbrethmemorialumc

shr

What Cancer Cannot Do

(Author Unknown)

 Cancer is so limited…

 

It cannot cripple God’s Love;

 

It cannot shatter Hope;

It cannot erode Faith;

It cannot destroy Peace;

It cannot kill Friendship;

It cannot shut out memories;

It cannot silence Courage;

It cannot invade the Soul;

It cannot steal Eternal Life;

And it cannot conquer the Spirit.

Photo Credits:  godlywords.com, new-life-in-recovery.com, notsalmon.com, art.com, cherrybam.com, Flickr, makefive.com, WFUV, 21st Century Christianity, & Digital Media FX

7 thoughts on “What Cancer Cannot Do

  1. Sandy,

    Out of the blue this morning I googled Kelly Rosser and clicked on the “images” icon. I have such good memories of the time I got to work with Kelly. They alwasy make me smile. You and your family are in our prayers and always in our hearts.

    Buddy & marilyn

    1. Hello, Buddy! It has been a while. We have struggled some this past year, but God has brought us through. I’ll have Kelly get in touch with you. He’s going to be so excited! Love, Sandy

  2. I truly appreciated this post. We are experiencing cancer within our family. But, your post was so very sincere and uplifting. I will be sharing this one.
    Blessings

    PS I subscribe to the Upper Room.

  3. Being a NC resident, you must be familiar with Lake Junaluska, NC. We go there every summer. My husband and I met there 29 years ago. We were both on summer staff.

  4. Yes, I grew up going there with my family. I am a Methodist PK! Dad went to many conferences there including SEJ Conference. I attended a few of the Youth Conferences, too. My husband, Jim worked in the auditorium and did the lighting and sound for all the conferences and concerts. I worked in the Terrace Hotel one year and then at Jones Cafeteria my second year there. (Worked there summer of 1983 and 1984)-

    We meet my parents, my brother and his wife up there every year during the week of July 4th. We rent the Butterfly House where we have an awesome view of the Lake.

    Jim and I love Maggie Valley and cruising the Blue Ridge Parkway.

I'd love to read what you have to share!

