Ten Commandments: One True God

There are ten weeks until the Holy Week that will lead us into Eastertide.  Ten is a nice round number — and that brought to mind the Ten Commandments.  (Exodus 20:1-21 will be my focal passage.)  I’m going to take one commandment a week and concentrate on what that verse means in my life.  I invite you to share what these verses mean to you.

Then God gave the people all these instructions:  “I am the LORD your God, who rescued you from the land of Egypt, the place of your slavery.  You must not have any other god but me.”  Exodus 20:1-3 (NLT)

For me, my relationship with God is a commitment, very personal and intimate.  I don’t think it’s a coincidence that believers are referred to as “the bride” and that Christ is our “bridegroom.”  This life we’ve been given is very similar to a marriage.  God put forth a great deal of effort in my creation and He loved me enough to sacrifice His Son for my sins.  His rescue makes “the wedding feast of the Lamb” possible for me.

I think about all the “gods” that I have put before Him in my life:  romantic relationships, selfish ambitions, having my own way, abandoning His Word, and completely ignoring Him.  Basically, I’ve just left God hanging at times.  You know how that feels?  Longing for that special someone just to give us some sort of acknowledgement and getting passed by as if we were invisible?  I’ll be perfectly honest and tell you that last week, I spent two entire days licking my wounds about a situation that I cannot change no matter what I do.  Instead of going to God and resting in the shelter of His arms, I watched television and sulked.  What a waste of the LORD my God’s affection!

God longs to talk with me daily.  He wrote this awesome instruction book and gave [me] all these instructions so that my relationship with Him would be designed for just for me — just for Sandy Rosser.  I have His full attention at all times.  Sadly, I cannot say that He always has mine.

As we near the season of Lent, it is my intent to eliminate the distractions of the other “gods” in my life and focus on the One True God.  What is my biggest distraction?  I’m not sure at this moment.  In the past, I’ve chosen physical distractions to avoid.  For instance, last year I gave up soda and only had water to drink for Lent.  But let’s face it — soda is not the biggest distraction in my spiritual life.  Looking back, I feel like I sort of copped out.

We started a new Bible study tonight at Culbreth Memorial UMC called Believing God by Beth Moore.  We’ll be there most Wednesday nights from 6:00-8:00pm.  We’d love to have you.  Check us out at www.facebook.com/culbrethmemorialumc.

I feel like I’m on the precipice of something great.  I’m going to put myself completely into this study.  It’s what God requires of me.

shr

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Out of Eden Ministries
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 16:48:07

    Great post! Thank you! I too have considered, at various times, the various “gods” in my life. It’s not easy to think about, but I think loving God with all of our hearts, our minds and our strength requires that we think about it, and then DO something about it! Thanks for the reminder.

    P.S. – I’ve done the Believing God study 3 times. It is phenomenal. Enjoy!

    Reply

I'd love to read what you have to share!

